How to automatically install a font on the end-user computer

This forum is meant for people to share their knowledge by writing their own tutorials for Adventure Maker.

Moderators: time-killer-games, Vengeance66, Candle, reneuend, GM-Support

How to automatically install a font on the end-user computer

Postby GM-Support » Fri Nov 04, 2005 10:53 pm

The following tutorial will tell you how to setup the installer of your game so that it will install a font on the end-user computer.


1. When you are ready to compile your project, click "Distribute (create exe)" and then click "Start Distribution".

2. Click OK until you get the following message: "Adventure Maker is now ready to create a setup file for your project. The process may take a few minutes."

3. For the moment, do NOT click OK. With Notepad, edit the file "PROJECTNAME.ISS" that is located inside the Adventure Maker folder (i.e. the folder in which you have installed Adventure Maker).

4. You will notice that there is a secton called [Files]. Just add the following line to that section:

Code: Select all
Source: "c:\windows\fonts\MYFONT.TTF"; DestDir: "{fonts}"; FontInstall: "FONTNAME"; CopyMode: onlyifdoesntexist; Flags: uninsneveruninstall

(where you must replace MYFONT.TTF with the name of the file that contains the font information, and FONTNAME with the name of the font itself. For example, replace MYFONT.TTF with OZHANDIN.TTF, and FONTNAME with "Oz Handicraft BT")

5. Now save and close the file. Go back to Adventure Maker and click OK to resume the creation of the setup file.


Best regards,
GM-Support
GM-Support
Forum Admin and Games Page admin
 
Posts: 2221
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 7:52 pm

Postby under_score » Thu Dec 01, 2005 4:26 am

Yay! :P

I've always wanted to do that.
Thanks GM
under_score
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 6:51 am
Location: Canada

Postby proficio » Mon Feb 19, 2007 2:27 am

Keep in mind most fonts are copyrighted.
proficio
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 12:35 am

Postby mercedes » Fri Aug 22, 2008 6:50 am

I do not see this folder...I have AM installed in my Program Files..I also looked inside AM as well, and I can't find t his..I have gotten as far as compiling it..right before..now i don't know what to do..Edit what with notepad..? Please tell me where this is.


THanks:)

Peace
User avatar
mercedes
VIP
 
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:43 pm
Location: Canada..~

Postby Candle » Fri Aug 22, 2008 7:40 am

Look for the file in your AM folder with the name of PROJECTNAME.ISS (maybe small case) and you can right click on it and click open with notepad.
Please don't PM me questions, ask here in the forums!
``````````````
Between grand theft and a legal fee, there only stands a law degree.
User avatar
Candle
Administrator
 
Posts: 3050
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 2:21 am
Location: Rudy's Bar

Postby mercedes » Fri Aug 22, 2008 8:08 am

This is what is in my AM folder..:)

I have looked for the most part in all of them ..the folders u see here..

Which one is it in..am i on the right track?
Attachments
AdventureMaker Folder.JPG
AdventureMaker Folder.JPG (73.9 KiB) Viewed 10969 times
User avatar
mercedes
VIP
 
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:43 pm
Location: Canada..~

Postby Candle » Fri Aug 22, 2008 9:12 am

How it is done :)
Stop at the dialog that says AM is ready to make your setup file.
look in the Am folder.
Unzip this file and drop the exe in to the AM folder and make a short cut to it and when you want to open the iss file just run this exe and it will open it for you to edit.

see images
Attachments
run-iss.zip
(221.88 KiB) Downloaded 634 times
2008-08-22_030402.jpg
2008-08-22_030402.jpg (51.26 KiB) Viewed 10966 times
2008-08-22_030435.jpg
2008-08-22_030435.jpg (76.91 KiB) Viewed 10966 times
2008-08-22_030454.jpg
2008-08-22_030454.jpg (68.15 KiB) Viewed 10966 times
2008-08-22_030513.jpg
2008-08-22_030513.jpg (109.78 KiB) Viewed 10966 times
2008-08-22_030644.jpg
2008-08-22_030644.jpg (77.93 KiB) Viewed 10966 times
Please don't PM me questions, ask here in the forums!
``````````````
Between grand theft and a legal fee, there only stands a law degree.
User avatar
Candle
Administrator
 
Posts: 3050
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 2:21 am
Location: Rudy's Bar

Postby juhuwoorps » Sat Mar 14, 2009 7:46 am

If I install a font with the game, is it also uninstall when I uninstall the game?
juhuwoorps
Code Master
 
Posts: 622
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 3:13 pm

Postby mercedes » Sat Mar 14, 2009 9:16 am

I would think so.. yes..when u uninstall the software, and it asks u do u want to uninstall "this game" and all of it's components..I would think it would mean the font's too..When u install it, you put it in whichever game's project folder. So yeah.. i would think so Juhu..:) I installed a game today and then i uninstalled it and the font is not on my pc...if it does stay i would think it would be cached then..

Adieux~
User avatar
mercedes
VIP
 
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:43 pm
Location: Canada..~

Postby insaneproject » Sun Apr 22, 2012 8:44 am

which is the default font of AM?

may include more than one font?
User avatar
insaneproject
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 9:54 am
Location: SPAIN

Postby mercedes » Sun Apr 22, 2012 8:55 am

User avatar
mercedes
VIP
 
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:43 pm
Location: Canada..~

Postby insaneproject » Sun Apr 22, 2012 9:15 am

ok, I see font.tff. the name of the font is the same as appears in the file. tff?
User avatar
insaneproject
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 9:54 am
Location: SPAIN

Postby mercedes » Mon Apr 23, 2012 1:00 am

..Yes, that is your basic extension for a Font..
User avatar
mercedes
VIP
 
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:43 pm
Location: Canada..~

Postby insaneproject » Mon Apr 23, 2012 1:16 am

and as I see what your real name?
Image
HERE MY WEBSITE AND MY GAMES! CLICK HERE:http://magva-productions.es.tl/
User avatar
insaneproject
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 9:54 am
Location: SPAIN

Postby insaneproject » Tue Apr 24, 2012 11:14 am

I've released an error during compilation to put this code:
Source: "c: \ windows \ fonts \ Creepsville Normal.TTF" DestDir: "{font}"; FontInstall: "RW-creepsville" CopyMode: onlyifdoesntexist; Flags: insneveruninstall
I put this under [files] on line 341 and I came out this error:
Attachments
errer.JPG
errer.JPG (197.21 KiB) Viewed 7340 times
Image
HERE MY WEBSITE AND MY GAMES! CLICK HERE:http://magva-productions.es.tl/
User avatar
insaneproject
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 9:54 am
Location: SPAIN

Postby insaneproject » Tue Apr 24, 2012 11:18 am

to see the name of the font: click the right button / properties is correct?

because then I get this error?
I include this font in a folder of my project?
Image
HERE MY WEBSITE AND MY GAMES! CLICK HERE:http://magva-productions.es.tl/
User avatar
insaneproject
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 9:54 am
Location: SPAIN

Postby mercedes » Tue Apr 24, 2012 4:57 pm

It doesn't read read right..It should read;

Source: "c: \windows\ fonts\Creepsville Normal.TTF" DestDir: "{font}"; FontInstall: "RW-creepsville" CopyMode: onlyifdoesntexist; Flags: uninsneveruninstall

uninsneveruninstall was misspelled..
That might be the problem..

Copy and paste when you can...:)
Last edited by mercedes on Tue Apr 24, 2012 9:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
mercedes
VIP
 
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:43 pm
Location: Canada..~

Postby insaneproject » Tue Apr 24, 2012 8:11 pm

its really ohhhhhhhhhh sorry please I have bad memory
thx very much mercedes again
Image
HERE MY WEBSITE AND MY GAMES! CLICK HERE:http://magva-productions.es.tl/
User avatar
insaneproject
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 9:54 am
Location: SPAIN


Return to Post Your Own Tutorials

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron