Number Pad 1-9-Opens a safe-Tutorial

This forum is meant for people to share their knowledge by writing their own tutorials for Adventure Maker.

Moderators: time-killer-games, Vengeance66, Candle, reneuend, GM-Support

Number Pad 1-9-Opens a safe-Tutorial

Postby mercedes » Wed Jun 25, 2008 3:03 am

For those of you who wish to make a number pad go from 1-9. Here is the way I did it..The code to get this number pad to activate the safe to open and its 39725. This is how I got it to work..very similar to the tutorial on the colored boxes..Lyberdoggy did and I posted.:)
Attachments
Number_Pad_Safe Pic.JPG
Picture of the safe..I drew this really fast..to give you an idea of what you can use it for.
Number_Pad_Safe Pic.JPG (27.22 KiB) Viewed 6741 times
Tutorial Number pad_1.JPG
What you put in the Frame Properties and the Variables you will need.
Tutorial Number pad_1.JPG (91.36 KiB) Viewed 6741 times
Tutorial Number pad_2-hotspots.JPG
Hotspot 1 and 2
Tutorial Number pad_2-hotspots.JPG (77.33 KiB) Viewed 6741 times
Tutorial Number pad_3 Hotspots.JPG
Hotspot 3 and 4
Tutorial Number pad_3 Hotspots.JPG (74.09 KiB) Viewed 6741 times
Tutorial number pad_6.JPG
This is the Last hotspot and the Ok button or if you wish for the handle. I put sound in it so if the user gets it right it will make a positive sound,if not negative one.
Tutorial number pad_6.JPG (71.51 KiB) Viewed 6741 times
User avatar
mercedes
VIP
 
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:43 pm
Location: Canada..~

Postby Jaked » Wed Jun 25, 2008 11:20 pm

Thanks! You need a hint to know what numbers to press! My Steam puzzle is of use there. Perfect combination of puzzles! Great idea, but I need to make a safe b4 i jump to any conclusions! 8) 8) 8)
User avatar
Jaked
Code Master
 
Posts: 729
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 4:26 am

Postby mercedes » Wed Jun 25, 2008 11:32 pm

Hi there...there is a hint in the game itself..i just used this in a game..Not quiet like this one..but sort of ..:D...THis is just something you can use in a game...lol..

I just saw that you added one...gonna check it out..!~..cool

ttus
User avatar
mercedes
VIP
 
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:43 pm
Location: Canada..~

Postby pennsteve » Mon Aug 11, 2008 6:38 pm

If I make the numbers in paint, what is the size I should make them? 640x480 would seem to be too big.

And where would I put the jpgs? Would I need 1-9 for each box?
pennsteve
Expert Member
 
Posts: 329
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 3:55 pm

Postby Lyberodoggy » Mon Aug 11, 2008 8:10 pm

you would just have to import the pics in Areas folder of your project.
The program would use the same pics for all the boxes.
User avatar
Lyberodoggy
Administrator
 
Posts: 2519
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 3:31 pm
Location: Athens

Postby pennsteve » Mon Aug 11, 2008 8:48 pm

Ok, if I made the numbers using paint, what size should I make the jpg? Any idea?
pennsteve
Expert Member
 
Posts: 329
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 3:55 pm

Postby mercedes » Tue Aug 12, 2008 1:10 am

Look at the size of the hotspot you will put there..the size appears when u point at it in AM..Adjust the pics to that size in paint..Image>>attributes..size of hotspot...


An attachment follows..:)




Peace
Attachments
Number_1_Pad.JPG
This picture is 40*40 pixels..
Number_1_Pad.JPG (1.17 KiB) Viewed 6511 times
User avatar
mercedes
VIP
 
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:43 pm
Location: Canada..~

Postby sugawara » Thu Aug 28, 2008 5:51 pm

i like this! could you do essentially the same thing with words? for example if it was a door that was locked with a riddle? i suppose then you would have the entire alphabet of variables to go through in order for it to work.

it would be interesting if this could be done with words so you could unlock doors to another area....
sugawara
Active Member
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2006 4:25 am

Postby mercedes » Thu Aug 28, 2008 6:07 pm

Did you check out my other Tutorials..? One involved answering riddles to get into the door..with Hint on the door for the user...It was for my game Cabin Fever i used the method with..:) There is also my Crossword tutorial..might be what you are looking for as well..All of them can be modified to suit your needs..:)

http://www.adventuremaker.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=3854
http://www.adventuremaker.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=4026

And no you dont need to make any variables for the whole alphabet..but you would for the answers..and or the words..if its crossword one..:)

Thanks for interest..
Peace
User avatar
mercedes
VIP
 
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:43 pm
Location: Canada..~


Return to Post Your Own Tutorials

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron