Combining hotspots

This forum is meant for announcing new plugins, downloading other people's plugins, posting questions, etc.

Moderators: time-killer-games, Vengeance66, Candle, reneuend, GM-Support

Combining hotspots

Postby albalustro » Thu Nov 22, 2012 2:06 am

I was thinking in a plugin which allowing to choose a specific action (of those already existing) after clicking in a hotspot then in another in sequence. I will try to explain more:

When you click in a hotspot (A) then click another (B) you can choose an action (for instance 'display a message').
But when you click in a hotspot (C) then in hotspot (B) you can choose other action (as 'add item to inventory').

In this way I see that would possible create a command system fixed on the interface (use; take; open, etc) as well is on Shadowgate (http://www.flyingomelette.com/reviews/n ... -woman.gif)
Beside the wide possibilities of kinds of puzzles that would be possible to create combining hotspots.

Anyone already thought in something like that before? or maybe anyone that agree that it is a good idea to put into pratice? or if already there are a way to do this in the current version of AM?

Regards

Rafa Albalustro
“Creativity is contagious. Pass it on.” - Albert Einstein
albalustro
Junior Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2010 2:56 pm

Re: Combining hotspots

Postby reneuend » Thu Nov 22, 2012 5:33 am

Hi Albalustro,

You can do this with AM by using a little VB scripting or by using the Variables tab.
I've got a youtube video explaining sequencing. There is also at least a few examples on how to do it in the AM Magazine and other threads.

Lets say you want to display a message after the following sequence: Hotspot(1) Hotspot(2)
Of course, there are variations of what happens if they don't enter it in correctly, but my example will allow you to click any direction, but only if you get the sequence correct will it show the message.
First, create an integer variable and call it whatever you want. I'll call mine, "count" or you can use the variables tab to do all this. I prefer a little vb script instead.
Under Hotspot(1) you would enter the following code or set the value in the variables tab:
Code: Select all
count = count + 1
if count > 1 then
  count = 1
end if

Under Hotspot(2) you would enter the following code or set the value in the variables tab:
Code: Select all
count = count + 1
If count > 1 then
  action.message "Hello World!"
  count = 0
end if
---


Image
Image
User avatar
reneuend
Administrator
 
Posts: 2680
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 8:37 pm
Location: Midwest Cornfield, USA

Re: Combining hotspots

Postby albalustro » Thu Nov 22, 2012 7:38 pm

Very Cool. I'll try this.
Thank you!
“Creativity is contagious. Pass it on.” - Albert Einstein
albalustro
Junior Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2010 2:56 pm


Return to The Plugins Corner

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron