Timer problem

This forum is meant for discussing the creation of software for the PSP.

Moderators: time-killer-games, Vengeance66, Candle, reneuend, GM-Support

Timer problem

Postby James Brophy » Thu Feb 02, 2006 3:57 pm

Hi, I was buildign a game where you have to move through corridors before fire caught up to you. The problem is that when I move to the next screen, the efect of the timer from the previous screen will sometimes come about.

So, here is how it plays...
______________________

Running down corridor.
10 seconds to make correct choice or corridor falls in. :?
Correct choice is made, on to the next screen.

Screen change...
Sucess screen. You have escaped the firey death. :D
The 10 second timer started by the previous screen ends.

Screen change...
You dident move fast enough, you are dieing a firey death! :shock: :evil:
_______________________

See how this might look a little odd when playing it? :)

Anyone got any ideas how to fix this? Is there a stop timer command that can be attached to decisions?
James
Brophy
User avatar
James Brophy
Junior Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 3:43 pm
Location: Ireland

Postby Bortdafarm » Thu Feb 02, 2006 8:33 pm

this from the help section on timed events


Removes a Timed Event (see the description of the command "Action.CreatedTimedEvent" for details on what timed events are). The syntax is:

Action.RemoveTimedEvent NUMBER

where NUMBER is the number that identifies the Timed Event that you want to remove (the first one that you have created is number 1, the second one is number 2, etc.).

Note: If you want, when you create a new Timed Event, you can retrieve the number that identifies it, by using the following code:

NUMBER = Action.CreateTimedEvent(X, "CODE", REPEAT)

Instead of the following one:

Action.CreateTimedEvent X, "CODE", REPEAT


////////

any help?

i'm assuming the problem is that the

Action.CreateTimedEvent X, "CODE", REPEAT

event hasn't got a editable number other than the time it takes to count down that is---so the

Action.RemoveTimedEvent NUMBER

is a bit misleading (as it says above lol)

so if i understand it correctly the first timer you create is number 1 the next is number 2 and so on--?

so as you leave the frame

Action.RemoveTimedEvent 1
Bortdafarm
 

Postby GM-Support » Fri Feb 03, 2006 11:34 pm

If you don't use scripting in your game, then what happens is very strange.

Could you please send your project in a ZIP archive to contact2005@adventuremaker.com so that I can try to reproduce the problem on my computer ?

Thanks,
GM-Support
GM-Support
Forum Admin and Games Page admin
 
Posts: 2221
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 7:52 pm

Timer problem

Postby James Brophy » Sun Feb 05, 2006 8:03 pm

It's not using scripting, its just the basic timer in the frame properties menu.

The problem dosen't occur on the pc. Only on the psp.
James
Brophy
User avatar
James Brophy
Junior Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 3:43 pm
Location: Ireland

Postby GM-Support » Mon Feb 06, 2006 6:59 pm

Ok, maybe I see what the problem is.

Could you send me the project to contact2005@adventuremaker.com ?

thanks,

Best regards,
GM-Support
GM-Support
Forum Admin and Games Page admin
 
Posts: 2221
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 7:52 pm


Return to Creating Software for the PSP

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron