Conflit between iTunes+Quicktime and Adventure Maker?

This forum is meant for posting anything related to Adventure Maker that doesn't fit in the other forums.Please post technical questions in the Technical Support Forum!

Moderators: time-killer-games, Vengeance66, Candle, reneuend, GM-Support

Conflit between iTunes+Quicktime and Adventure Maker?

Postby KirkAHub » Sun Jan 08, 2006 9:28 pm

A while back AdventureMaker stopped working on my computer. The only way that I could get it to work was when I used System Restore in Windows XP to go back to my system configuration at a date that it used to work. Since then it has worked fine.

The only thing that I can think of that I did that could have caused the problem was install Quicktime (which now days is integrated with iTunes). I am hesitant to install it again because of my previous problems.

Has anyone installed the new Quicktime from the Apple site? Has it caused any AdventureMaker problems?

Thanks
Kirk
KirkAHub
Member
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2003 6:37 pm
Location: Austin, TX

Postby Candle » Sun Jan 08, 2006 10:42 pm

I had it installed and didn't have any problems.
Please don't PM me questions, ask here in the forums!
``````````````
Between grand theft and a legal fee, there only stands a law degree.
User avatar
Candle
Administrator
 
Posts: 3058
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 2:21 am
Location: Rudy's Bar

Postby KirkAHub » Mon Jan 09, 2006 1:33 am

Thanks Candle, I think that I'll set a restore point then install and see how it works.

Kirk
Kirk
KirkAHub
Member
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2003 6:37 pm
Location: Austin, TX

Postby KirkAHub » Wed Jan 11, 2006 5:34 am

Well, I installed Quicktime V7 (that includes iTunes) and the same thing happened again. After the install when I double click on the AM icon I get pop-up after pop-up telling me that a certain file cannot be found.

I deleted the new files by removing the application and then restored Windows XP to the state just before I installed Quicktime. Again, AM now works fine. I do not have the time or energy to troubleshoot any further, so I will just go without Quicktime on this computer.

Kirk
Kirk
KirkAHub
Member
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2003 6:37 pm
Location: Austin, TX

Postby Candle » Wed Jan 11, 2006 9:17 am

hey Kirk , have you tried QuickTime Alternative 1.61?
http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark, ... =quicktime
Please don't PM me questions, ask here in the forums!
``````````````
Between grand theft and a legal fee, there only stands a law degree.
User avatar
Candle
Administrator
 
Posts: 3058
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 2:21 am
Location: Rudy's Bar

Postby Scarface » Thu Jan 12, 2006 8:37 pm

Had the same error ...

FIX = Right mouse click on AM.exe

Click properties and then compatibility

Then just check the Run the program in compatibilty mode box

and choose WINDOWS 2000.

this worked for me.

bye :).. btw like the program very much :!:
Scarface
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 8:34 pm


Return to Adventure Maker General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron