i need help (im a noob)

This forum is meant for posting anything related to Adventure Maker that doesn't fit in the other forums.Please post technical questions in the Technical Support Forum!

Moderators: time-killer-games, Vengeance66, Candle, reneuend, GM-Support

i need help (im a noob)

Postby halolord11 » Wed Jul 19, 2006 9:27 pm

ok im making a game, and i just started, ive read the tutorial on how to make the thing so the door wont open unless u have the torch or in my case the key, but i dont get it could someone help me?

i know how to make it so the key can go into ur inventory, but thats it could somebody help me with the rest?
halolord11

Postby Mystery » Wed Jul 19, 2006 11:36 pm

I'm not sure where you get stuck with the help file. But I'll try to describe it in detail (I hope that I don't forget any step), maybe it helps. I remember that I also had some difficulties to understand how variables worked when I was new to AM. But this is only a short phase of confusion :)

For the case of a key there are even 2 possibilities. Either the player has to drag the key from the inventory onto the door (Instruction A), or the player clicks the door and can only get access to the next room, if he/she has the key in the inventory list (Instruction B).

A) Instruction for the case that the player has to drag the key onto the door to open it:

1. Create a bigger hotspot on door knob:
Make a hotspot around the door knob.
If you wish, you can also go to "audio" tab of the hotspot properties and add a sound of door rattling.
Or you can go to the "action" tab of the hotspot properties and check "display a text message" and add e.g. "The door is locked."

2. Pick up key:
This is what you already managed to do.

3. Let player use the key on the door: