The Spotlight Plugin

This forum is meant for posting anything related to Adventure Maker that doesn't fit in the other forums.Please post technical questions in the Technical Support Forum!

Moderators: time-killer-games, Vengeance66, Candle, reneuend, GM-Support

The Spotlight Plugin

Postby LindaCat » Sun Jan 21, 2007 9:45 am

I thought this would be simple to use, and it looks amazing, BUT for some reason I cannot use my hotspots. When moving ?the light? I can see them, but clicking produces no action at all. WHY? :? :? :?
User avatar
LindaCat
Active Member
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 3:26 pm

Postby LindaCat » Tue Jan 23, 2007 11:54 am

This is the info I got on the spotlight-plugin:

NOTE:
If you have created graphical hotspots that are visible depending on the value of one or more variables, and if you want to see those hotspots appear/disappear in real-time while the effect is running, you must use the "Go to another frame" option and link it to the same frame in which the hotspots are contained. That will reload the frame and thus update the hotspots.

BUT my hotspots are just the ordinary, quite visible kind, SO what?s wrong?
:? :? :?
User avatar
LindaCat
Active Member
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 3:26 pm

Postby GM-Support » Fri Jan 26, 2007 4:29 pm

Hi LindaCat,

I just made a test on a new project and it works fine on my computer.

I am posting my test project as an attachment to this message. Just click on the mountains and a text will appear saying "you clicked on the mountains".

Does it work on your computer?

Best regards,
GM-Support
Attachments
test.zip
AMproject to test spotlight plugin.
(161.61 KiB) Downloaded 264 times
GM-Support
Forum Admin and Games Page admin
 
Posts: 2221
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 7:52 pm

Postby LindaCat » Fri Jan 26, 2007 6:11 pm

Thanks for taking time to do this for me.

Yes, the test worked on my computer, but even if I copy your light settings, nothing happens in my game. I have no idea, but is this plugin in any way related to directx? (OCXv1?) If so it's my computer that's the culprit.

I'm saving up for a new computer and will then fix the present one as well, even if it will only be used for rendering. Speaking of which, my new computer will have Media / Vista, and I sincerely hope it will be compatible with both the current and future version of AM.
User avatar
LindaCat
Active Member
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 3:26 pm

Postby GM-Support » Fri Feb 02, 2007 4:25 pm

Hi,

No, it is not related to DirectX.

If the sample that I sent you works fine on your computer, than the problem is probably not related to your computer.

Could you create a small test project that reproduces your problem with just a few frames, and then upload its source code on these forums so that I can try it out on my computer and let you know ?

Thanks,

Best regards,
GM-Support
GM-Support
Forum Admin and Games Page admin
 
Posts: 2221
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 7:52 pm

Postby LindaCat » Sat Feb 03, 2007 12:15 pm

Thanks.
Not knowing how "to upload source code", I made a new project with 2 frames + hotspots. I set the plugin as in my game, - and it worked fine! So I went back to my game to look for the difference, and realised that the inventory items were missing. That made the difference. With items in the inventory the plugin does not work. (Nor does the inventory appear/disappear progressively)

To get this to the forum, I compiled it, but realised that I've never compiled an AM-game before, and have to learn what all the options mean.

The .exe was impossible to add as an attatchment for some reason, so I downloaded a zip-programme and zip'ed it, and hope it's possible to open, and that this is fixable.
:)

PS. Perhaps a zip-programme could be among the useful extras in the future?
Attachments
LightDummy.rar
(733.25 KiB) Downloaded 283 times
User avatar
LindaCat
Active Member
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 3:26 pm

Postby Candle » Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:58 pm

I can reproduce the error that you get. here is the source files to test it with.
Attachments
messagebox.zip
(210.98 KiB) Downloaded 261 times
Please don't PM me questions, ask here in the forums!
``````````````
Between grand theft and a legal fee, there only stands a law degree.
User avatar
Candle
Administrator
 
Posts: 3056
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 2:21 am
Location: Rudy's Bar

Postby LindaCat » Sun Feb 04, 2007 12:39 pm

Hi Candle.
Am I supposed to do something with this source code, or did you just do it for me?
User avatar
LindaCat
Active Member
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 3:26 pm

Postby Candle » Sun Feb 04, 2007 1:01 pm

For GM.
Please don't PM me questions, ask here in the forums!
``````````````
Between grand theft and a legal fee, there only stands a law degree.
User avatar
Candle
Administrator
 
Posts: 3056
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 2:21 am
Location: Rudy's Bar

Postby LindaCat » Thu Feb 22, 2007 2:48 pm

Is this problem approaching some kind of fixability? :?
User avatar
LindaCat
Active Member
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 3:26 pm


Return to Adventure Maker General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests