Vista and video games

This forum is meant for posting anything related to Adventure Maker that doesn't fit in the other forums.Please post technical questions in the Technical Support Forum!

Moderators: time-killer-games, Vengeance66, Candle, reneuend, GM-Support

Vista and video games

Postby Candle » Tue Jan 30, 2007 11:28 pm

Please don't PM me questions, ask here in the forums!
``````````````
Between grand theft and a legal fee, there only stands a law degree.
User avatar
Candle
Administrator
 
Posts: 3056
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 2:21 am
Location: Rudy's Bar

Postby DarkFox101 » Wed Jan 31, 2007 5:53 am

~Love to~, looks like Windows Vista is gonna really mess up Casual game developers. If Vista is going to delete or have casual games like the ones the AM community, RPG maker community, etc makes and does not show on the desktop because of Parental Controls... Then what else do the casual developers have? ESRB ratings (due to what the article says) costs a game developer 2,000/3,000 dollars just to have it rated.

The things parents do just to keep their bratty 12 year olds from playing GTA on their PC. Nonsense!
DarkFox101
Frequent Poster
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:26 am
Location: New York

OMR

Postby Harvester » Wed Jan 31, 2007 3:58 pm

One more reason not to get Vista... I was thinking about it as I would like to use, or at least see some of the abilities of DirectX 10, which won't be introduced to older Windows like XP, thanks to MS. I really don't like what they are doing. They think they can control the whole software and hardware industry, and the sad thing is that it is almost true.
User avatar
Harvester
Forum Master
 
Posts: 883
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 6:28 pm
Location: Hungary

Postby SeryousYew » Thu Feb 01, 2007 12:45 am

Applications' compatibility is not granted and with the DRM(Digital Rights Managements) the HD technology is still forbidden because no hardware has already this protection features. Further more is very expensive, the main change is Aero that is not available in the Home Basic edition (the cheapest full editions). I'm thinking seriously to migrate at all to Linux, WINE is working enough well I had also played with UnrealTournament and Painkiller very smoothly (I will try to run AM on wine...)
Take a look on this http://badvista.org
SeryousYew
Member
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 2:02 pm

Postby Candle » Thu Feb 01, 2007 1:05 am

I have no plans on upgrading to the new OS, I'm happy with the way XP runs so no need to .
But the users that buy a new computer with it install will have a problem with the new games you will make.
They will put the small game maker out of the playing field and that will make the big guys happy.
I'm looking at Linux but then I have use Linux before. just not for game making.
And the Mac is looking better all the time.
Please don't PM me questions, ask here in the forums!
``````````````
Between grand theft and a legal fee, there only stands a law degree.
User avatar
Candle
Administrator
 
Posts: 3056
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 2:21 am
Location: Rudy's Bar

Postby chad123261 » Thu Feb 01, 2007 1:27 am

if i get a new comp, il make sure it has vista
chad123261
Frequent Poster
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 11:29 pm

Postby SeryousYew » Thu Feb 01, 2007 1:53 pm

Why?
SeryousYew
Member
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 2:02 pm

Postby DarkFox101 » Thu Feb 01, 2007 5:57 pm

chad123261 wrote:if i get a new comp, il make sure it has vista


Well then, have fun with their new buggy OS. When I build a new computer, XP is going on it.
DarkFox101
Frequent Poster
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:26 am
Location: New York

Postby chad123261 » Thu Feb 01, 2007 10:35 pm

i mean, when I GET A NEW COMP, which wont be for a while, Visat is gonna have bugs, ill wait till they pass
chad123261
Frequent Poster
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 11:29 pm

Postby SeryousYew » Fri Feb 02, 2007 8:46 am

Relax! I wanna know only your point of view, the reasons that pushes you to want Vista -because bugs ain't main problem, a service pack will be released early-

:lol: When I build a new computer, KDE4 is going on it. :lol:

Regards.
SeryousYew
Member
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 2:02 pm

Postby SeryousYew » Sat Feb 03, 2007 10:44 pm

AM 4.1 can be installed on current version of WINE without any problem but unluckily the scripting engine seems does not work and several error messages are displayed...
SeryousYew
Member
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 2:02 pm

Postby DarkFox101 » Sat Feb 03, 2007 11:49 pm

I don't trust Vista at all for some reason...
Image
DarkFox101
Frequent Poster
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:26 am
Location: New York

Postby LindaCat » Sun Feb 04, 2007 12:37 pm

Now I am REALLY worried!!! :shock:
I NEED a new computer quite soon as my current one is falling to bits, and it will have VISTA on it.
Have anyone TRIED running AM on VISTA???
User avatar
LindaCat
Active Member
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 3:26 pm

Postby DarkFox101 » Sun Feb 04, 2007 6:12 pm

Your best bet Lindacat is to build your own computer and buy XP for it. That's what I plan on doing. You don't need to upgrade to the new OS. Microsoft shouldn't really force anyone to upgrade honestly.
Image
DarkFox101
Frequent Poster
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:26 am
Location: New York

Postby LindaCat » Sun Feb 04, 2007 6:48 pm

I need a laptop and doubt that I could build it myself with my 16 thumbs! :lol:
Shops now do not offer XP PRO any more, so will be stuck with VISTA, but surely it can be used to build AM-games??? Somehow...
If not, I don't know what to do. All my considerable softwares are WINDOWS, so can't really swap to UNIX or MAC.
User avatar
LindaCat
Active Member
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 3:26 pm

Postby DarkFox101 » Sun Feb 04, 2007 7:17 pm

Hmmmm..... I need to dig up on info on how to get XP then if shops no longer sell XP Pro. Newegg.com was offering Vista. Maybe if I search for XP maybe it will pop up. Hold up a sec...

Found some.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16832116058
Windows XP Home Edition

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16832116176
Windows XP Pro

Now for Vista...

http://promotions.newegg.com/msvista/Vista_Products.html

More cheaper then XP. I wonder why... Or unless I haven't found the best pricing.

Edit:

Yeah I was right. Found a good price for XP Pro.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16832116175

You just have to really look within the search results.
Image
DarkFox101
Frequent Poster
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:26 am
Location: New York

Postby SeryousYew » Sun Feb 04, 2007 7:44 pm

LindaCat wrote:All my considerable softwares are WINDOWS, so can't really swap to UNIX or MAC.

http://appdb.winehq.org/appbrowse.php here you can fine some of the applications that runs under WINE then don't fear to migrate to Mac or Unix!
However if M$ really stops to supply XP, is a very bastard move!
SeryousYew
Member
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 2:02 pm

Postby LindaCat » Sun Feb 04, 2007 8:59 pm

Thanks for the sympathy, but non of my mayor softwares like 3DMAX, Bryce, Macromedia-Adobe collection or the CuriousLab lot were listed. I'll consider buying an extra XP PRO licence, but have to confer with the company I work for. If the company goes for VISTA, I have to know that the work I do from home is compatible. (Perhaps I can buy an extra HD and run one OS on each. . . Best of both worlds, eh? :? )
User avatar
LindaCat
Active Member
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 3:26 pm

Postby LindaCat » Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:06 pm

I must be tired not to think of this:
What's the point of building AM games on XP and for XP when it's only a matter of time before everyone is using VISTA?

There's just got to be a way to bridge this! :P
User avatar
LindaCat
Active Member
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 3:26 pm

Postby SeryousYew » Mon Feb 05, 2007 11:02 am

People passes to Vista because doesn't know alternatives but what will happen when they all realize that can't play games, can't run applications and view digital contents after have paid so much money??. Software houses could consider to develop applications for Unix an MacOS instead than for Vista because they could see their products not working well or locked by Microsoft's protections. Maybe for Windows ?This is the End ...? don't you think?

For Linda:
3DSMax http://appdb.winehq.org/appview.php?iAppId=343
Bryce http://appdb.winehq.org/screenshots.php?iAppId=220&iVersionId=
Macromedia http://appdb.winehq.org/search.php?sSearchQuery=macromedia
Adobe http://appdb.winehq.org/search.php?sSearchQuery=adobe
Poser6 http://appdb.winehq.org/appview.php?iAppId=115

Although already exist some free (Free as speech, Free as beer) application for Linux that do the some things of this above, maybe the next version of this commercial applications can be natively compatible with Linux (or MacOS)
SeryousYew
Member
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 2:02 pm

Postby ShadowHunter » Mon Feb 05, 2007 11:48 pm

Hi,

Does AM work with Vista ? Yes it does, see screenshot below... does it all work ? No, alas it doesn't (yet) :?

I have found troubles with scripting and to be more precise with MediaPlayerObject scripting... maybe it is just because I'm still a few files short... but for now... it works better than expected.

I tried the Scavenger Hunter Demo and it runs... problem is again no sound and the game keeps asking to try .247 file to play with Media Player... the reason is obvious... AM uses the old Media Player OCX whilst Vista is using version 11.

Maybe installing the old ActiveX components for MediaPlayer 9 will do the trick...

And yes, Vista is a beautiful OS with very neat graphics, an ennoying security, weak start menu and incredible fast search features (really amazing) and you will love the 3D Flip in the Ultimate version :D

Anyone else tried it ?

Kind regards,

ShAdOwHuNtEr
Attachments
vista.jpg
vista.jpg (149.64 KiB) Viewed 14134 times
User avatar
ShadowHunter
Forum Admin and Games Page admin
 
Posts: 1304
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2003 10:37 pm
Location: Belgium

Postby DarkFox101 » Tue Feb 06, 2007 1:06 am

Looks like GM has alot of work to do. This is what I would do.

Make an executable that works with both XP and Vista. But the components to use, I don't know yet. I am unfamiliar with Vista. Toughy... >.>
Image
DarkFox101
Frequent Poster
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:26 am
Location: New York

Postby chad123261 » Tue Feb 06, 2007 2:12 am

vista looks pimpin
chad123261
Frequent Poster
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 11:29 pm

Postby SeryousYew » Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:01 am

Vista?: beginner.

Watch this
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZD7QraljRfM
and also
http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=beryl&search=Search
... I have it! :D

By the way: try to copy all old (WMP9) c:\windows\system32\wmp*.dll files
into AM executable directory(or game folder) it should avoid to load the WMP11 instance.
A big problem is the scripting engine that depend very much from the SO (win 98/XP) - a new engine should be embedded
Forms are not correctly handled, wrong window decoration and does not always receive the unload signals - maybe changing the form's Border Style properties...
SeryousYew
Member
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 2:02 pm

Postby DarkFox101 » Tue Feb 06, 2007 2:31 pm

Image
DarkFox101
Frequent Poster
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:26 am
Location: New York

Postby chad123261 » Tue Feb 06, 2007 9:23 pm

Vista looks sweetz
chad123261
Frequent Poster
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 11:29 pm


Return to Adventure Maker General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron