Text Adventures

This forum is meant for posting anything related to Adventure Maker that doesn't fit in the other forums.Please post technical questions in the Technical Support Forum!

Moderators: time-killer-games, Vengeance66, Candle, reneuend, GM-Support

Text Adventures

Postby time-killer-games » Sun Dec 26, 2010 3:48 am

Is it possible somehow to make a 'text adventure' with adventure maker? If so how? IMO that would make the capabilities of AM much more broad.

Thanks!
TKG
User avatar
time-killer-games
Expert Member
 
Posts: 400
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 6:10 pm
Location: Virginia Beach, VA

Postby Mystery » Sun Dec 26, 2010 12:45 pm

It depends what you mean with "text adventure".

If you mean interactive fiction, where you can type in commands (look at, take, use...), then there are other specialized programs for that.

If you mean a text adventure, where players can pick one of the possibilities to advance, then of course it's possible.
You just need to create frames with text on it, and text for the choices, and create hotspots over the choices.
User avatar
Mystery
Forum Admin and Games Page admin
 
Posts: 2990
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 8:12 am
Location: Switzerland

Postby reneuend » Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:43 pm

The short answer is "yes", but as Mystery has mentioned, there are more suitable applications for a true text adventure.

However, I think AM would provide a more powerful platform for building a text adventure because you would have the ability to add timers to your adventure, where some text would display after a period of time if the user didn't respond in time. At the end of the text adventure era, this really made for some great material.
---


Image
Image
User avatar
reneuend
Administrator
 
Posts: 2691
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 8:37 pm
Location: Midwest Cornfield, USA

Postby time-killer-games » Sun Dec 26, 2010 7:48 pm

Yeah, I meant a game where it asks you questions and you figure out stuff with text.

..but I also meant actually being able to type in commands in the game directly, and depending on what you type something happens. And when you type in a command not recognized, nothing happens.

Perhaps some VBS / plugin could do this?
User avatar
time-killer-games
Expert Member
 
Posts: 400
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 6:10 pm
Location: Virginia Beach, VA

Postby Candle » Sun Dec 26, 2010 9:50 pm

INPUT BOXES
An Input Box displays a prompt in a dialog box, waits for the user to input text or click a button, and returns a string containing the contents of the text box.

The syntax is:

return_value = inputbox ( PROMPT, TITLE, DEFAULT )

where PROMPT is the text you want to be displayed in the dialog box, TITLE is the dialog box title and DEFAULT is the expression displayed in the text box as the default response if no other input is provided.

The following example shows how to ask the player to enter a password. Then it asks him to enter the password again in order to proceed.


Code: Select all
password = InputBox( "Please choose a password.", "Password" )
if password = "" then exit sub
MsgBox "You have chosen the following password: " & password , vbInformation
do until returnvalue = password
   returnvalue = inputbox("Now enter the password again in order to proceed.")
   If returnvalue = "" then exit sub
   If returnvalue = password then MsgBox "The password is correct." else MsgBox "Wrong password.",vbExclamation
loop


http://www.adventuremaker.com/help/vbsc ... erence.htm

input your text :)
Please don't PM me questions, ask here in the forums!
``````````````
Between grand theft and a legal fee, there only stands a law degree.
User avatar
Candle
Administrator
 
Posts: 3055
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 2:21 am
Location: Rudy's Bar

Postby reneuend » Sun Dec 26, 2010 10:07 pm

time-killer-games wrote:Yeah, I meant a game where it asks you questions and you figure out stuff with text.

..but I also meant actually being able to type in commands in the game directly, and depending on what you type something happens. And when you type in a command not recognized, nothing happens.

Perhaps some VBS / plugin could do this?


------
You don't need a plugin for this. You can do it using the dialogue feature in AM. :wink:
---


Image
Image
User avatar
reneuend
Administrator
 
Posts: 2691
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 8:37 pm
Location: Midwest Cornfield, USA

Postby Lyberodoggy » Thu Jan 06, 2011 12:57 am

There is a plugin actually, an old one I 'd made, the parser plugin. I hope the link is still live for the plugin pack that contained it.
http://www.adventuremaker.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=4868
User avatar
Lyberodoggy
Administrator
 
Posts: 2519
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 3:31 pm
Location: Athens

Postby juhuwoorps » Thu Jan 06, 2011 1:01 am

Welcome back Lybero!
Yes the link is still alive :)
juhuwoorps
Code Master
 
Posts: 622
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 3:13 pm

Postby reneuend » Thu Jan 06, 2011 1:27 am

Great to hear from you Lyberodoggy!
---


Image
Image
User avatar
reneuend
Administrator
 
Posts: 2691
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 8:37 pm
Location: Midwest Cornfield, USA

Postby Lyberodoggy » Sun Jan 09, 2011 10:38 pm

Sorry for the absence. Has been a long year...
User avatar
Lyberodoggy
Administrator
 
Posts: 2519
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 3:31 pm
Location: Athens


Return to Adventure Maker General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron