Is it possible to combine two different projects?

This forum is meant for posting anything related to Adventure Maker that doesn't fit in the other forums.Please post technical questions in the Technical Support Forum!

Moderators: time-killer-games, Vengeance66, Candle, reneuend, GM-Support

Is it possible to combine two different projects?

Postby KAPROJECT » Sat Jan 08, 2011 11:13 pm

I just want to know, thanks in advance.
KAPROJECT
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 6:17 pm

Postby reneuend » Sat Jan 08, 2011 11:22 pm

That's an interesting question. I don't think you can just copy the files over to another project's directories. I think you would run into file conflicts.

Is there something specifically that you are trying to accomplish?

I have a test project that I try stuff in. When I get it working, I copy the code, rebuild the hotspots, and copy files from the external and area folders.

Maybe someone can give a better explanation of how AM uses the files that it creates. I've never really explored this.
---


Image
Image
User avatar
reneuend
Administrator
 
Posts: 2691
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 8:37 pm
Location: Midwest Cornfield, USA

Postby time-killer-games » Sat Jan 08, 2011 11:35 pm

This is something I was wondering as well.

@reneuend: Not sure but this could be what KAPROJECT is trying to do...

sometimes in a game there's 'minigames'. For example, I'm in the middle of an AM game and the place I'm at ingame is an archade. In order to make the archade games playable, you might need a secondary AM project to be openned using the OpenExeFileAndWait VBS function. Make a hotspot on the picture of a pinball game, and once you click it opens the secondary pinball window and waits. Once you get the high score per say, it would unlock something new to do on the main game window.

in other words use two game windows at once can be helpful to some degree.
User avatar
time-killer-games
Expert Member
 
Posts: 400
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 6:10 pm
Location: Virginia Beach, VA

Postby reneuend » Sat Jan 08, 2011 11:49 pm

The only problem is that if its an executable, its a totally separate application. You could launch it from within an AM game, but it would be totally separate from the game you launched it from. However, it's possible to set it up for them to share files so you could pull data from the arcade game back to the application that launched it.

I hope that makes sense.
---


Image
Image
User avatar
reneuend
Administrator
 
Posts: 2691
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 8:37 pm
Location: Midwest Cornfield, USA

Postby time-killer-games » Sat Jan 08, 2011 11:57 pm

It does. :)
User avatar
time-killer-games
Expert Member
 
Posts: 400
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 6:10 pm
Location: Virginia Beach, VA

Postby Mystery » Sun Jan 09, 2011 12:19 am

Please see this discussion about merging projects:
http://www.adventuremaker.com/phpBB2/vi ... php?p=6747

Just make sure that you don't have identical names of your resources in each project.
User avatar
Mystery
Forum Admin and Games Page admin
 
Posts: 2990
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 8:12 am
Location: Switzerland

Postby reneuend » Sun Jan 09, 2011 1:54 am

fascinating! :shock:

I'm not sure if this is what was wanted, but it's definitely nice to know!
---


Image
Image
User avatar
reneuend
Administrator
 
Posts: 2691
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 8:37 pm
Location: Midwest Cornfield, USA

Postby Mystery » Sun Jan 09, 2011 2:05 am

Ah okay I see it now in the later posts :P
User avatar
Mystery
Forum Admin and Games Page admin
 
Posts: 2990
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 8:12 am
Location: Switzerland


Return to Adventure Maker General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron