Is it possible to........

This forum is meant for posting anything related to Adventure Maker that doesn't fit in the other forums.Please post technical questions in the Technical Support Forum!

Moderators: time-killer-games, Vengeance66, Candle, reneuend, GM-Support

Is it possible to........

Postby drdna » Sun Jan 20, 2013 8:24 pm

Hello Everyone,

I've been using AM for many years and love it. My primary usage is to create interactive games for special events I attend several times a year for hundreds of people. Concider me a live games camp of sorts. Now I want to step up my games but don't know if it's possible to do what I want to do.

What I want to do is have two people play off of each other with two different computers. Let me explain....

I want to have the computers facing each other. Each player will select a "challenge" choice from a list and send it to the other player. It will pop-up on the other players screen. They will then have a time limit to complete it. First one that does wins. I have written this for one computer but is it possible to send the selection to another computer? Basically I need to know if I can create a network version, where I can have two computers access the same game.

Thanks in avance.

Craig
drdna

Re: Is it possible to........

Postby reneuend » Mon Jan 21, 2013 4:20 am

How would the computers be communicating? internet? server? shared directory?
The easiest way would be local network with a shared directory. Then it would just be a matter of reading a file between them.
Other ways are possible but would require building a plugin and knowledge of networking.

What do you think? I thought of trying this myself.
---

reneuend
Administrator

Postby drdna » Mon Jan 21, 2013 6:58 am