Unable to View third person game or panaromic game..

This forum is meant for requesting technical support or reporting bugs.

Moderators: time-killer-games, Vengeance66, Candle, reneuend, GM-Support

Unable to View third person game or panaromic game..

Postby mercedes » Sun May 18, 2008 4:43 am

Hi there..I am unable to view the 3rd person game that comes with AM..

Also unable to view the panorama game as well..

Example games..

Am i supposed to do something to make them viewable..

I have seen on the plug ins page that the AM comes with 3rd person..So im not sure what to do about this..I gather it's not the plug in I need ..yet this is what the error message said about me needing this or something to that affect.


many Thanks in advance for any response

It may be the active x control i may need..?..OCX was part of the error..Just not sure how to do this..many thanks..!
User avatar
mercedes
VIP
 
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:43 pm
Location: Canada..~

Postby Mystery » Mon May 19, 2008 1:55 pm

Could you please be more specific about the error message?
Post a screenshot, or post the exact error message.
User avatar
Mystery
Forum Admin and Games Page admin
 
Posts: 2990
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 8:12 am
Location: Switzerland

Postby mercedes » Tue May 20, 2008 12:59 am

ERROR 1

Unable to initialize the AM plugin. The corresponding OCX file has probably not been installed properly.

ERROR 2

An error has occurrred game not working properly component "AMPANO" could not be found..

ERROR 3 Object required component could not be found..~


The exact same error messages for THIRD PERSON PLUGIN..about it missing component and OCX PLUGIN..


i'm assuming i may have to download plug ins maybe..I can only assume that if i downloaded with IE..sometimes they won't allow active x components to download with it..? not sure..when i download AM that is..
User avatar
mercedes
VIP
 
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:43 pm
Location: Canada..~

Postby Lyberodoggy » Tue May 20, 2008 8:31 am

The plugins have not been installed correctly to your computer for some reason..
User avatar
Lyberodoggy
Administrator
 
Posts: 2519
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 3:31 pm
Location: Athens

Postby mercedes » Tue May 20, 2008 10:11 am

Any idea on what i can do to install them correctly then..perhaps its just code..i have to enter..GM comes back on the 31st i think..It can wait till then...:)..its not like i want to do anything with it right now..and I have to update to newer version of am...When GM gets back..I can always ask him then if that will fix it...I presume it should..I hope so..if not..I'm sure its just a matter of code as well as downloading plug in for it from plug in page perhaps..I hope so..either way..I have to download AM when this project is done..

What do u think..?

I should have done so already really...but it takes me alongg time to do so...with dial up..and was in the middle of a project..still am..well fixing a few things.. :lol:

Thanks for response..
User avatar
mercedes
VIP
 
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:43 pm
Location: Canada..~

Postby Lyberodoggy » Tue May 20, 2008 12:11 pm

maybe ocx components didn't install correctly. Uninstall AM when you finish your project and then re-install it.
User avatar
Lyberodoggy
Administrator
 
Posts: 2519
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 3:31 pm
Location: Athens

Postby Candle » Tue May 20, 2008 12:55 pm

Register ActiveX Controls - A Walkthrough

Registering an ActiveX Control is very simple. Once a control is registered, it will be recognized by the system. The first step is getting the path to the ActiveX Control. You can do this a number of ways, such as browsing to the control location and copying the path in the Explorer address bar, or searching for the file. For this example I am going to register the PlayList.ocx control that is located in C:\Program Files\Moon Valley Software\CD Ultra\Bin\activex on my machine.

Windows has a program called "regsvr32" that is used to register controls. To register a control, go to Start->Run and enter regsvr32 followed by the path and name of the control you want to register. Place the path in quotations. For example, to register the PlayList.ocx control I would enter:

regsvr32 "C:\Program Files\Moon Valley Software\CD Ultra\Bin\activex\PlayList.ocx"

After pressing OK, you should see a message box saying it succeeded.
Image

Register ActiveX Controls - Success

To un-register a control add "/u" after regsvr32. For example, to un-register the PlayList.ocx control I would enter:

regsvr32 /u "C:\Program Files\Moon Valley Software\CD Ultra\Bin\activex\PlayList.ocx"

After pressing OK, you should see a message box saying it succeeded.

ActiveX Control - UnRegister
Image

To view a list of options for the regsvr32 program enter only "regsvr32" in the run box.

Image

Image
Please don't PM me questions, ask here in the forums!
``````````````
Between grand theft and a legal fee, there only stands a law degree.
User avatar
Candle
Administrator
 
Posts: 3057
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 2:21 am
Location: Rudy's Bar

Postby Lyberodoggy » Tue May 20, 2008 5:22 pm

Thanks Candle! How can I do tho using code?

BTW I just saw your new "Admin Squirrel" avatar :P. Nice...

I guess you are working on Chromegloss's idea...
User avatar
Lyberodoggy
Administrator
 
Posts: 2519
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 3:31 pm
Location: Athens

Postby Candle » Tue May 20, 2008 5:56 pm

Let me think on it and I'll get back to you today.
Please don't PM me questions, ask here in the forums!
``````````````
Between grand theft and a legal fee, there only stands a law degree.
User avatar
Candle
Administrator
 
Posts: 3057
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 2:21 am
Location: Rudy's Bar

Postby mercedes » Wed May 21, 2008 5:11 am

could you please help with with the path..thanks for responding Candle..:D

So far this isn't working for me..I assume it would be the same path as yours...? i think..

regsvr 32
C:\Program Files\AdventureMaker\Projects\thirdpersongame\plugins..

Am i on the right track..

Could you put exact path..would help me a great deal..Ive tried it a few times..and i'ts not working out... :?

thats how i would search for it..so..obviously not doing it right..Wish it would have just installed..ugh..
User avatar
mercedes
VIP
 
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:43 pm
Location: Canada..~

Postby Mystery » Wed May 21, 2008 11:53 am

Hmmm, maybe it's
C:\Program Files\Adventure Maker v4.5.2\Plugins\AMPanoramaPlugin_ID7.ocx

and

C:\Program Files\Adventure Maker v4.5.2\Plugins\ThirdPersonPluginOCXVER1.ocx
User avatar
Mystery
Forum Admin and Games Page admin
 
Posts: 2990
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 8:12 am
Location: Switzerland

Postby mercedes » Wed May 21, 2008 8:09 pm

Hey Mistery...Ive tried those among other tries..I'ts notworking..I did a search..here are those results..maybe that might give a hint.. :? I have no idea if this will help or not..

Not really sure..Thanks for your response..:)

the paths ive used were..\

regsvr32 "C:\Program Files\AdventureMaker v4.4.0\Plugins\ThirdpersonPluginOCXVER1.ocx

regsvr32"C:\Program Files\Adventure Maker v4.4.0\Plugins\ThirdPersonPluginOCXVER1.ocx"

tried it a few different ways..:(
Attachments
Search results.JPG
Search results.JPG (63.92 KiB) Viewed 4615 times
User avatar
mercedes
VIP
 
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:43 pm
Location: Canada..~

Postby Mystery » Thu May 22, 2008 1:38 am

Too pity :(

Did you try to re-install AM, too?
User avatar
Mystery
Forum Admin and Games Page admin
 
Posts: 2990
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 8:12 am
Location: Switzerland

Postby mercedes » Thu May 22, 2008 1:46 am

Wow.. great minds must think alike..for both of us to change avatars at the same time...lol..

yes i will try that as soon as i am done with the project...

Thanks for response though..:D
User avatar
mercedes
VIP
 
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:43 pm
Location: Canada..~

Postby Lyberodoggy » Thu May 22, 2008 8:17 am

nice new avatars btw... (I know it's a bit off-topic, but it's better than opening anew one :P)

Mercedes you have registered the same ocx two times?
User avatar
Lyberodoggy
Administrator
 
Posts: 2519
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 3:31 pm
Location: Athens

Postby mercedes » Thu May 22, 2008 11:41 pm

Actually One is part 1 and one is part 2 of the component....And thanks..!~
User avatar
mercedes
VIP
 
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:43 pm
Location: Canada..~

Postby Candle » Fri May 23, 2008 10:46 am

Here is something i coded that will register the OCX for you.
Just browse to the plug-in and it will do it for you.
It will unregister them too.
Attachments
2008-05-23_044542.jpg
2008-05-23_044542.jpg (17.62 KiB) Viewed 4542 times
Register OCX plugins.zip
(194.15 KiB) Downloaded 235 times
Please don't PM me questions, ask here in the forums!
``````````````
Between grand theft and a legal fee, there only stands a law degree.
User avatar
Candle
Administrator
 
Posts: 3057
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 2:21 am
Location: Rudy's Bar

Postby mercedes » Fri May 23, 2008 11:04 am

One question though Candle..when i uninstall AM and upgrade to the newer version..will all plug ins go with it..?

Cause if that is the case..Then I will wait to download this,.. right?..In case it happens again..where plug ins don't register..

I have to upgrade..I'm still using the 4.4 version..was just waiting till project was over with ...and then was going to upgrade..

What do you think..?


Sorry for all the questions.. :oops:
User avatar
mercedes
VIP
 
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:43 pm
Location: Canada..~

Postby Candle » Fri May 23, 2008 3:18 pm

Just try it and see if it helps you.
Won't hurt anything.
Please don't PM me questions, ask here in the forums!
``````````````
Between grand theft and a legal fee, there only stands a law degree.
User avatar
Candle
Administrator
 
Posts: 3057
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 2:21 am
Location: Rudy's Bar


Return to Adventure Maker Technical Support and Bug Reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest