Problems running old AM 3.5 Versions on Vista![A Fix]

This forum is meant for requesting technical support or reporting bugs.

Moderators: time-killer-games, Vengeance66, Candle, reneuend, GM-Support

Problems running old AM 3.5 Versions on Vista![A Fix]

Postby Norman » Tue Jul 15, 2008 9:44 pm

Hello,

I can't even run my old version on Vista (Home Premium & Basic) or the new one (even as administrator or Compatibility modus):

"Component 'comdlg32.ocx' or one of its dependencies not correctly registered: a file is missing or invalid" Error.

Nothing help, not even regsvr32 filename.dll/.ocx etc. or the full vbrun60sp5/MSVBVM50 packages from Microsoft!

And same as here:
http://www.adventuremaker.com/phpBB2/vi ... ight=vista

My old Version is adventure maker 3.5.5, but the solution how to get old Version running on Vista seems to be a "secret"...??

Why can't you present a solution for anyone who using older Version, like me?? We all have spend money long time ago, but now, changing to Vista, AM can't work anymore...Any solution, patch??

Regards
Norman
Norman
Junior Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 9:28 pm

Postby GM-Support » Tue Jul 15, 2008 10:00 pm

Hello Norman,

Thank you for your message.

There is no "secret". The private message I sent to James R. was to inform him that I finished recompiling his game using the version 4.4 of AM.

If you have an old game that you want me to compile for you using the new version of Adventure Maker, please feel free to let me know.

Regards,
GM-Support
GM-Support
Forum Admin and Games Page admin
 
Posts: 2221
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 7:52 pm

Postby Norman » Tue Jul 15, 2008 11:29 pm

Hello,

The problem are not the games, the problem is that my older version of AM and the new can't be use on Vista...

If I install AM on Vista I get only the message:
"Component 'comdlg32.ocx' or one of its dependencies not correctly registered: a file is missing or invalid" Error.

So what now???

It is not possible to run AM on a Vista System. I have try to use it on two PC's...Any solution???
Norman
Junior Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 9:28 pm

Postby Norman » Tue Jul 15, 2008 11:44 pm

To be clear: I can install any version on Vista, but when I try to open the application I get the error message. So my question: How can I use my older version on Vista?
Norman
Junior Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 9:28 pm

Postby Candle » Wed Jul 16, 2008 12:05 am

Please don't PM me questions, ask here in the forums!
``````````````
Between grand theft and a legal fee, there only stands a law degree.
User avatar
Candle
Administrator
 
Posts: 3055
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 2:21 am
Location: Rudy's Bar

Postby Norman » Wed Jul 16, 2008 1:22 am

Thank you, but it don't works...nice idea anyway...

My Adventure Maker Version 3.5.5 and the new versions don't like Vista. Can anyone explain why? Under Win XP there is no problem at all to run also my old version and the new...
Norman
Junior Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 9:28 pm

Postby Candle » Wed Jul 16, 2008 1:25 am

You will need to upgrade to the new AM to run it on Vista.
Please don't PM me questions, ask here in the forums!
``````````````
Between grand theft and a legal fee, there only stands a law degree.
User avatar
Candle
Administrator
 
Posts: 3055
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 2:21 am
Location: Rudy's Bar

Postby Norman » Wed Jul 16, 2008 1:31 am

First I like my old application and I would like to use it in the future.. and the new AM also make the same problems as my old...
Norman
Junior Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 9:28 pm

Postby Norman » Wed Jul 16, 2008 3:02 am

Hello @ll...

After 5 hours work, I have found how to run also older versions of AM & how to register OCX and DLL files on Vista :-)

The main problem on Vista is that you can't register OCX or DLL with regsvr32 filename.dll/.ocx only...

Anyone who want to know the trick (easy and take only 1 min.), contact me under my email:
ad17652 (at) yahoo.com
Under Subeject: OCX

See you.
Norman
Junior Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 9:28 pm

Vista Fix allows older programs to run with no sound issues

Postby James Rasmusson » Sat Dec 13, 2008 6:28 am

I found a solution for running my older AM programs on Vista - here it is:

Copy sndre32.exe from older version of windows and paste it in the system32 file, then run it once. When I did this I got a message that aid it was not working right......would you like windows to fix the problem, click yes. Once this was done, my programs ran fine with complete sound.
The programs continued to run fine even after I deleted sndrec32.exe file from system32. It may be that you don't even have to put it in the system 32 file - first try pasteing it on your desktop and running it from there. Evidently running sndrecorder32.exe prompts Vista to install the proper codec.

I am working on making a fix installer (without microsofts sndrec32.exe file) that will do the same thing so that I can include it with my software to customers or freinds who want to run the programs I made previously on Vista.

Here's why from wikipedia -

Sound Recorder in all versions of Windows prior to Windows Vista, was based on Audio Compression Manager. It could open and save audio in 8-bit or 16-bit uncompressed PCM format (.wav) from 8 kHz to 48 kHz, including CD Quality audio (44,100 Hz, 16-bit, stereo PCM).

Although it allowed saving only to the .wav container format, it could use any of the installed ACM codecs to compress the audio; typically several voice codecs and the MPEG Layer III (MP3) codec were installed by default. As ACM supported only Constant bitrate (CBR) stereo audio files, Sound Recorder also had these limitations and did not support Variable bitrate (VBR) files or multichannel audio.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sound_Recorder_(Windows)
User avatar
James Rasmusson
Junior Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 3:47 pm
Location: WI

Postby Lyberodoggy » Sat Dec 13, 2008 12:17 pm

Thanks for the info, it was great... I 'm going to sticky this...
You can include the file using the option on AM's installer, then have it run after the installation...

EDIT: Can't find the option for sticky, probably not one of my moderator duties anymore, so I 'll leave it to another mod/admin
User avatar
Lyberodoggy
Administrator
 
Posts: 2519
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 3:31 pm
Location: Athens

Postby James Rasmusson » Sat Dec 13, 2008 1:27 pm

Cool, glad it helped. I wonder if it effects the playing of video - as I see shadow hunter was working on that using EZTalk.

8)
User avatar
James Rasmusson
Junior Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 3:47 pm
Location: WI

Postby Candle » Sat Dec 13, 2008 1:54 pm

Sticky now.
Please don't PM me questions, ask here in the forums!
``````````````
Between grand theft and a legal fee, there only stands a law degree.
User avatar
Candle
Administrator
 
Posts: 3055
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 2:21 am
Location: Rudy's Bar

Sticky this

Postby James Rasmusson » Sun Dec 14, 2008 3:59 am

Hey, I'm not familiiar with this lingo....what does that signify...sticky??

:oops:
User avatar
James Rasmusson
Junior Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 3:47 pm
Location: WI

Postby Lyberodoggy » Sun Dec 14, 2008 11:10 am

A sticky post is always on top of the post list in a category of the forums, so that new users will see it and read it...
User avatar
Lyberodoggy
Administrator
 
Posts: 2519
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 3:31 pm
Location: Athens

Postby Candle » Sun Dec 14, 2008 5:16 pm

BTW you want to put the dog back. :lol:
Please don't PM me questions, ask here in the forums!
``````````````
Between grand theft and a legal fee, there only stands a law degree.
User avatar
Candle
Administrator
 
Posts: 3055
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 2:21 am
Location: Rudy's Bar

Postby Lyberodoggy » Sun Dec 14, 2008 5:29 pm

Done :wink:
User avatar
Lyberodoggy
Administrator
 
Posts: 2519
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 3:31 pm
Location: Athens


Return to Adventure Maker Technical Support and Bug Reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron