problem with font installation?

This forum is meant for requesting technical support or reporting bugs.

Moderators: time-killer-games, Vengeance66, Candle, reneuend, GM-Support

problem with font installation?

Postby Sofi » Fri Jul 23, 2010 12:59 am

I have tried to install this font "F_KOODAK.TTF" which I had never problem with and it worked fine with older version of AM.
But now I am using the AM versin that support Win.7.

I am adding the follwoing script under Aftar seciton called [Files] on myprojeckt.iss file. No error message with building setup file but when i install my SW setup file it can not install the font. What can be the problem??

Code: Select all
Source: "c:\windows\fonts\F_KOODAK.TTF"; DestDir: "{fonts}"; FontInstall: "F_koodak"; CopyMode: onlyifdoesntexist; Flags: uninsneveruninstall
User avatar
Sofi
Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 12:41 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby Mystery » Fri Jul 23, 2010 2:34 am

I don't know, but I would think that it *could* be an issue with write protection (on Vista and Windows 7), or that it's because that font is - as far as I've seen from my searches on Google - a Persian font.
As I said, just some guesses.

So, what OS did you test it with?
And did you also test another Latin based font?
User avatar
Mystery
Forum Admin and Games Page admin
 
Posts: 2990
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 8:12 am
Location: Switzerland

Postby Sofi » Fri Jul 23, 2010 12:03 pm

Yes, it is a persian font and it worked before. When I install the font manuelly it works fine. I am using WinVista. Is my script corrct?

BR
Sofi
User avatar
Sofi
Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 12:41 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby Mystery » Fri Jul 23, 2010 2:48 pm

Yes, according to GM-Support's tutorial it's correct:
http://www.adventuremaker.com/phpBB2/vi ... php?t=1321

I'm still thinking that it may be a write protection or user permission issue on Vista.
Could you try to run the compiled .exe which installs the game as admin? (right click on .exe file, and choose "run as admin") to see if it makes a difference?
User avatar
Mystery
Forum Admin and Games Page admin
 
Posts: 2990
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 8:12 am
Location: Switzerland

Postby Sofi » Fri Jul 23, 2010 6:01 pm

Hi,

I have run the compiled .exe which installs the game as admin, it does not
helped me.

//sofi
User avatar
Sofi
Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 12:41 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby Mystery » Fri Jul 23, 2010 10:12 pm

Hi Sofi,

At the moment I have no ideas. I have never installed fonts with AM.
However, I'm going to do some testing myself over the weekend as I have also Vista. I'll let you know what I can figure out :)
User avatar
Mystery
Forum Admin and Games Page admin
 
Posts: 2990
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 8:12 am
Location: Switzerland

Postby juhuwoorps » Fri Jul 23, 2010 10:23 pm

I also have never tried to install a font with AM but in your code

Code: Select all
Source: "c:\windows\fonts\F_KOODAK.TTF"; DestDir: "{fonts}"; FontInstall: "F_koodak"; CopyMode: onlyifdoesntexist; Flags: uninsneveruninstall


you are using different notations for your font.
In the source you have only capital letters, but at fontinstall you have just small letters.
Dont know if this helps you.This is just what I have seen

Greetings juhu
juhuwoorps
Code Master
 
Posts: 622
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 3:13 pm

Postby Mystery » Fri Jul 23, 2010 10:32 pm

juhuwoorps wrote:
you are using different notations for your font.
In the source you have only capital letters, but at fontinstall you have just small letters.
Dont know if this helps you.This is just what I have seen

Greetings juhu


If you take a look at GM-Support's tutorial, it's the same, so I don't think this is the issue.
http://www.adventuremaker.com/phpBB2/vi ... php?t=1321
User avatar
Mystery
Forum Admin and Games Page admin
 
Posts: 2990
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 8:12 am
Location: Switzerland

Postby juhuwoorps » Fri Jul 23, 2010 10:37 pm

Well I think you didnt understand me right this code:

Code: Select all
Source: "c:\windows\fonts\F_KOODAK.TTF"; DestDir: "{fonts}"; FontInstall: "F_koodak"; CopyMode: onlyifdoesntexist; Flags: uninsneveruninstall


should look like this

Code: Select all
Source: "c:\windows\fonts\F_KOODAK.TTF"; DestDir: "{fonts}"; FontInstall: "F_KOODAK"; CopyMode: onlyifdoesntexist; Flags: uninsneveruninstall


Perhaps you also need the extension of the font:

Code: Select all
Source: "c:\windows\fonts\F_KOODAK.TTF"; DestDir: "{fonts}"; FontInstall: "F_KOODAK.TTF"; CopyMode: onlyifdoesntexist; Flags: uninsneveruninstall
juhuwoorps
Code Master
 
Posts: 622
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 3:13 pm

Postby Mystery » Fri Jul 23, 2010 10:50 pm

GM said:

For example, replace MYFONT.TTF with OZHANDIN.TTF, and FONTNAME with "Oz Handicraft BT"


And from this I thought Sofi did it right.

But I'll see how my testing goes, and trying out caps and small letters is definitely worth a shot :)
Plus I'm not sure about the correct spelling of Sofi's font's name (F_koodak).
User avatar
Mystery
Forum Admin and Games Page admin
 
Posts: 2990
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 8:12 am
Location: Switzerland

Postby juhuwoorps » Fri Jul 23, 2010 11:00 pm

I'm waiting for your results :)

I never have tried it before, so I'm curious how it works
juhuwoorps
Code Master
 
Posts: 622
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 3:13 pm

Postby Mystery » Fri Jul 23, 2010 11:31 pm

Hmmm, it won't even compile for me - no matter which font I try (I've tried 3 different fonts so far) I get this message:

Image

Image

Could it be because the Fonts folder is protected in Vista?
User avatar
Mystery
Forum Admin and Games Page admin
 
Posts: 2990
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 8:12 am
Location: Switzerland

Postby reneuend » Sat Jul 24, 2010 12:07 am

You're right Mystery.

I've experienced similar issues with Vista for reading custom files. More than likely its an issue with permissions
---


Image
Image
User avatar
reneuend
Administrator
 
Posts: 2762
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 8:37 pm
Location: Midwest Cornfield, USA

Postby juhuwoorps » Sat Jul 24, 2010 12:49 am

What happens if you are using a font thats not in the font folder from windows?
Try to copy the font to your desktop and make this file as source file.
Last edited by juhuwoorps on Sat Jul 24, 2010 12:52 am, edited 1 time in total.
juhuwoorps
Code Master
 
Posts: 622
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 3:13 pm

Postby Mystery » Sat Jul 24, 2010 12:52 am

I'd have to check that.
However, if even the read permission is a problem, then I'm afraid that it's a bigger issue to use AM to install a font (write permission)...
User avatar
Mystery
Forum Admin and Games Page admin
 
Posts: 2990
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 8:12 am
Location: Switzerland

Postby juhuwoorps » Sat Jul 24, 2010 12:55 am

I have used a similar code to copy and register a dll file without errors.
I think if you are using the same source and destination folder makes problems.
juhuwoorps
Code Master
 
Posts: 622
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 3:13 pm

Postby Sofi » Sat Jul 24, 2010 6:45 pm

It is working now. If I click on font property the font name is "KOODAK_0.TTF" so I have to write the full name.

Code: Select all
Source: "c:\windows\fonts\F_KOODAK_0.TTF"; DestDir: "{fonts}"; FontInstall: "F_KOODAK_0.TTF"; CopyMode: onlyifdoesntexist; Flags: uninsneveruninstall


Thank you for all your kind suggestions.

//Sofi
User avatar
Sofi
Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 12:41 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby Mystery » Sat Jul 24, 2010 7:24 pm

Great to hear that you've been able to fix the problem, well done! :)
User avatar
Mystery
Forum Admin and Games Page admin
 
Posts: 2990
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 8:12 am
Location: Switzerland


Return to Adventure Maker Technical Support and Bug Reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron