ERROR with TextBoxObject

This forum is meant for requesting technical support or reporting bugs.

Moderators: time-killer-games, Vengeance66, Candle, reneuend, GM-Support

ERROR with TextBoxObject

Postby mercedes » Wed Jun 15, 2011 6:55 am

Hey there..

I am unable to write in my T.B.O..>>??
Also unable to backspace..

Error that comes up says Type mismatch object.. ProcessKeyStrokes...

This is my code in the Advanced of the Frame;

Code: Select all
LoadControl TextBoxObject(2)
TextBoxObject(2).move 218*15, 251*15, 304*15, 26*15
TextBoxObject(2).visible = True
TextBoxObject(2).Font = "Comic Sans MS"
TextBoxObject(2).Font.size ="12"
TextBoxObject(2).Forecolor = RGB (255,255,255)
TextBoxObject(2).backcolor = RGB(128,64,0)

Text(2).Caption = ""


The Text(2).Caption is for additional text on the frame..
So they can see.. they made an error..
As opposed to a message at the bottom or a message box;

For instance;

This is my code in the ENTER button to check if the T.B.O entry is correct..

Code: Select all
If TextBoxObject(2).Text <> " The correct Sequence of words" Then
Text(2).Caption = "Wrong Sequence"
Else
Text(2).Caption = "Your Freedom Has Been Granted"
End If


The correct sequence code is actual text..not numbers..

.

I've used this code before...I don't remember ever getting this error before with a T.B.O...

I thought it was the Font..so i changed it..

I'm not sure what I did differently before to allow the user to type in it..and backspace..? I didn't use KG..then..
Last edited by mercedes on Thu Jun 16, 2011 5:29 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
mercedes
VIP
 
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:43 pm
Location: Canada..~

Postby reneuend » Wed Jun 15, 2011 10:47 am

I put in your code and the only thing I changed was the Text(2). Mine was Text(1). It worked fine. This error looks like it is coming from KeyGuard. It appears to me that one of the keypresses you are using is being processed by KeyGuard incorrectly.

What key did you press when this error occurred? That's the one you will need to fix from KeyGuard.
---


Image
Image
User avatar
reneuend
Administrator
 
Posts: 2762
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 8:37 pm
Location: Midwest Cornfield, USA

Postby mercedes » Thu Jun 16, 2011 4:33 am

..I"m using KG for the hover action on the ENTER button...gahh...Now I'm gonna have to take hover out of there..

..Forgot I was using KG for hover on the same frame..

Thanks!~

EDIT*

Nope..it's still doing it...I can't even use the space bar in it..???
I took KG right out of that frame..

It's not being called in the frame's properties..
..I don't know..Its weird...


EDIT**
I tried to do a keystroke in my other textbox..on a different frame.
Same thing.

I'm hoping that the user doesn't try to type into that codebox..
But uses the numbers instead on the keypad....

If he/she so much as puts mouse in the keypad entry screen[TBO]
..he'll get that error....that's terrible..

Error in Component Object_Event ProcessKeystrokes

This has never happened to me before with objects..

I don't think it's KG.....Keyboard maybe...?

------------
I'm going to have to think of a way to disable the cursor around it..
So the user doesn't use it...AT least in codebox frame..I worked to hard on that one..:( Not sure how to do that though..It's not a hotspot..Maybe just a message..on the frame..Idk..

I don't know what I'm going to do with this frame
..It all fell around that symbol puzzle.... :cry:
This is awful...As if I can't use them now..
User avatar
mercedes
VIP
 
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:43 pm
Location: Canada..~

Postby reneuend » Thu Jun 16, 2011 12:07 pm

Send me the project. I still think it might be KeyGuard.
---


Image
Image
User avatar
reneuend
Administrator
 
Posts: 2762
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 8:37 pm
Location: Midwest Cornfield, USA


Return to Adventure Maker Technical Support and Bug Reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron