Page 3 of 4

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 4:07 am
by reneuend
No Problem. I needed to fix it anyway! :-)

As I didn't take the time to test the executable, please let me know if you have issues with it!

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 1:12 am
by Dalton
Hi guys. I wrote some months ago in the Black Wish Cemetery homepage about a bug. Ok, so I finally solved the problem. And I decided to create some new challenges for the game so now the Black Wish Cemetery is bigger and better. And the graphics are soo much better now. Check the photos

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 1:13 am
by Dalton
And here is the new part. :D

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 1:19 am
by Dalton
Hi Reneuend. I asked you by e-mail to post the link to download the game only when the new version will be finished. :)
I?m changing some things because most of people said the game is too short, so now I?m creating 5 new places to interact.

reneuend wrote:I had switched over to a new domain about the time the game was released. I'll check the link from my website and make sure it is stll active..I'll report back when its been done.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 2:56 am
by reneuend
At my age, things tend to escape me! :?

I'll replace the link with a message. Sorry Dalton!

By the way, your updated images look very nice.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 3:02 am
by Dalton
Ok, so now I have a question:
The ideia is the gamer will use an object A in a hotspot 1 to create an event (I can?t tell what it is because is one of the puzzles). After using the object A, the player will have to change to an another frame (the third) to get an object B (the result from the FIRST event). He will click in the hotspot 2 and he will go to second frame. Then he will click in the other hotspot and he will go the the third frame. Ok, so in this new frame there?s a hotspot (let's say this hotspot is number 4). The gamer will click and the last object will be there to be include in the inventory. Ok, but the problem is: this hotspot should be available only if the gamer uses the object A in the hotspot 1. I would like to know how do I block the hotspot 4 because if I don?t block this hotspot, the gamer will get the last object without using the Object A.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 4:09 am
by reneuend
There are a few ways that you can do this. AM's method for building a custom menu uses 2 hotspots stacked on each other. The top one doesn't allow the one underneath to work unless it is removed first. You would do this based on a condition: either by using AM's variable "switch" settings or by coding it.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 10:04 pm
by Dalton
That?s ok, don?t worrie (that?s why I inserted the :) in the end at the message).
About the uptaded images, I think I finally gave the right look to the game. Thanks for the compliments :D

I?ll try to use variables to configure the puzzle.

Regards


Dalton



reneuend wrote:At my age, things tend to escape me! :?

I'll replace the link with a message. Sorry Dalton!

By the way, your updated images look very nice.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2010 12:06 am
by Dalton
Is there a video teaching this?


reneuend wrote:There are a few ways that you can do this. AM's method for building a custom menu uses 2 hotspots stacked on each other. The top one doesn't allow the one underneath to work unless it is removed first. You would do this based on a condition: either by using AM's variable "switch" settings or by coding it.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2010 3:51 am
by reneuend
Dalton wrote:... I would like to know how do I block the hotspot 4 because if I don?t block this hotspot, the gamer will get the last object without using the Object A.



When the player clicks on hotspot 4, you will use code to check if a variable is set that will tell you if Object A had been used yet or not.

nObjectA_Used = 0 'user hasn't used object A yet

if nObjectA_Used = 1 then
'Object A used...so allow hotspot 4 to work
else
'Object A not used yet, don't do anything with hotspot 4
end if



If you need more details, PM me and I'll build an example.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2010 8:28 pm
by Dalton
Ok, got a question: the nObjectA_use is the the objectA? Do I have to write the name including the extension?

reneuend wrote:
Dalton wrote:... I would like to know how do I block the hotspot 4 because if I don?t block this hotspot, the gamer will get the last object without using the Object A.



When the player clicks on hotspot 4, you will use code to check if a variable is set that will tell you if Object A had been used yet or not.

nObjectA_Used = 0 'user hasn't used object A yet

if nObjectA_Used = 1 then
'Object A used...so allow hotspot 4 to work
else
'Object A not used yet, don't do anything with hotspot 4
end if



If you need more details, PM me and I'll build an example.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2010 8:52 pm
by Dalton
I wrote this:

nSmall Rocks_Used = 0 'user hasn't used Small Rocks yet

if nSmall Rocks_Used = 1 then
'Small Rocks used...so allow hotspot 2 to work
else
'Small Rocks not used yet, don't do anything with hotspot 2
end if


I changed the hotspot 4 to 2 because there?s only 2 hotspots in the frame and the hotspot 2 leads to the last frame with the object to get.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2010 6:13 pm
by Dalton
I solved this problem, using the variables. :D

PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2010 10:25 pm
by reneuend
Great job, Dalton! There is nothing better then getting something to work after a struggle! :-)

PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2010 6:06 am
by ZeornWarlock
New renders look good! :)

I'll have to give it another go! ;)

ZW.

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 1:45 pm
by Dalton
Yeah. Now I?m creating some "small events" in the game because there?s some events in the game that should be explained better. Now the game has the size of 230 mb (!).



reneuend wrote:Great job, Dalton! There is nothing better then getting something to work after a struggle! :-)

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 1:46 pm
by Dalton
Thanks :D

ZeornWarlock wrote:New renders look good! :)

I'll have to give it another go! ;)

ZW.

PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2011 4:27 pm
by Dalton
Hi everybody. Ok, the game is almost finished. I already did a trailer showing the new places and the new graphics. It?s on youtube.
Here?s the link:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r-kxfDfn4_o

Trailer

PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2011 10:46 pm
by Harvester
The trailer looks really awesome, and the choice of music is also very good! It brings to my mind the atmosphere of classical horror adventures which I love. I'm looking forward to see the complete version of the game. One of the most promising projects I've seen for AM -with a very high chance of crossing a finish line. Keep up the good work!

Harvester

Re: Trailer

PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:32 pm
by Dalton
Thanks Harvester :D
The game is almost finished. Just waiting Lybero insert the new sound effects and then I will search for beta testers. :D


Harvester wrote:The trailer looks really awesome, and the choice of music is also very good! It brings to my mind the atmosphere of classical horror adventures which I love. I'm looking forward to see the complete version of the game. One of the most promising projects I've seen for AM -with a very high chance of crossing a finish line. Keep up the good work!

Harvester

PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 12:40 am
by reneuend
Great to see your project finishing. I'm going to add the youtube trailer to my site if that's ok.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:38 am
by Dalton
Ok, it will be great to the project :D
Thanks :wink:

reneuend wrote:Great to see your project finishing. I'm going to add the youtube trailer to my site if that's ok.

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 9:01 am
by fanlynne
I am lynne,i am new here,hope to learn more fron you,from this forum....

PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2011 4:49 pm
by mercedes
Is this game..fully complete now...? I'd like to try it...:)

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2011 5:57 pm
by reneuend
Of course, Dalton will have to answer this. I tested it and it works fine on XP. What I found is on Windows 7, when you click on a cut scene video, it may cause an error. One solution would be to deactivate the mouse during the video, but no one has been able to do this that I'm aware of.

I thought Dalton was going to release it with this caveat, but I guess not. :-(

PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 2:36 am
by Dalton
Hi Reneuend. Well, I don?t know how long will be to create a plugin to solve this error, so I think it will be a good idea realese this game with this bug, but with an info about how avoid it. What you think?

reneuend wrote:Of course, Dalton will have to answer this. I tested it and it works fine on XP. What I found is on Windows 7, when you click on a cut scene video, it may cause an error. One solution would be to deactivate the mouse during the video, but no one has been able to do this that I'm aware of.

I thought Dalton was going to release it with this caveat, but I guess not. :-(

PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 5:30 am
by reneuend
It's a great game. I hate to see it sit around any longer. I'm already looking forward to the sequel! :-)

Give me 1 week to look at it again. I've been sick the past couple weeks and just haven't been getting anything accomplished. I'll PM you with some of my thoughts.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 7:19 am
by mercedes
when you click on a cut scene video, it may cause an error. One solution would be to deactivate the mouse during the video, but no one has been able to do this that I'm aware of.


I know you can't disable the mouse outside the area of the frame..itself..You can disable it within the frame though right...?

Are you talking about...just Windows 7-- or...when video is playing..or both..?

*************
What about Limited mouse movements.---keep mouse out of the video area--only..]...or disable the mouse..with a hotspot..just before the video starts to play type thing...?

Would that be an option...?..I guess at this point..wondering if its just Windows7 you're talking about..:P

PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 3:56 pm
by reneuend
It was only occurring in Windows 7 on a full screen video. I tried to disable the mouse, but with no luck. There is one other thing I want to try before I give up on it though.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 1:11 am
by Dalton
Hi Reneuend
I understand. Health is something we must care about it. PM me with some of your thoughts.



reneuend wrote:It's a great game. I hate to see it sit around any longer. I'm already looking forward to the sequel! :-)

Give me 1 week to look at it again. I've been sick the past couple weeks and just haven't been getting anything accomplished. I'll PM you with some of my thoughts.