Can't Play WMV

This forum is meant for requesting technical support or reporting bugs.

Moderators: time-killer-games, Vengeance66, Candle, reneuend, GM-Support

Can't Play WMV

Postby Crazygamemaker » Mon Jul 23, 2007 7:31 pm

I am having trouble playing wmv files.Other video files work except wmv.The problem may be linked to Vista.That's what I have.
User avatar
Crazygamemaker
VIP
 
Posts: 278
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 1:40 am
Location: 805,Califas

Postby Candle » Mon Jul 23, 2007 7:44 pm

Do you have the new AM installed?
Other then that I'm not sure why it would not work as I dan't have vista for testing.
Have to wait till GM comes in.
Please don't PM me questions, ask here in the forums!
``````````````
Between grand theft and a legal fee, there only stands a law degree.
User avatar
Candle
Administrator
 
Posts: 3058
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 2:21 am
Location: Rudy's Bar

yes

Postby Crazygamemaker » Mon Jul 23, 2007 9:56 pm

Yes I have version 4.3.
User avatar
Crazygamemaker
VIP
 
Posts: 278
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 1:40 am
Location: 805,Califas

Postby GM-Support » Fri Jul 27, 2007 11:28 pm

Hi,

Although they share the same extension, there are many different types of wmv files, created with different versions of the codec.

The ones that you can play on Adventure Maker are the ones that you can also play with Media Player 6.4. Furthermore, you can also play newer ones if the appropriate codecs are installed on the computer.

To check if the video can be played on Media Player 6.4, just click Start-
>Run and execute mplayer2.exe (I am not sure if this file still exists on Vista though, I don't have it right now to test it, but I know that it works on XP).

Anyway the problem is likely due to the fact that the wmv file was encoded with a version of the codec that is not supported (probably a too recent one, like Windows Media 11). I would suggest encoding it in an older version of the wvm codec.

GM-Support
GM-Support
Forum Admin and Games Page admin
 
Posts: 2221
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 7:52 pm

Thanks

Postby Crazygamemaker » Sat Jul 28, 2007 4:43 am

Thanks for replying.Windows Vista's start menu does not have a run sign like older versons,but I will try to download an older version.
AdvenureMaker is so easy even a caveman can use it!
User avatar
Crazygamemaker
VIP
 
Posts: 278
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 1:40 am
Location: 805,Califas

Postby Candle » Sat Jul 28, 2007 4:58 am

Click the start button then type run in the search box.
Please don't PM me questions, ask here in the forums!
``````````````
Between grand theft and a legal fee, there only stands a law degree.
User avatar
Candle
Administrator
 
Posts: 3058
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 2:21 am
Location: Rudy's Bar

thanks

Postby Crazygamemaker » Sat Jul 28, 2007 5:10 am

Thanks.I also found it under accessories.
I typed mplayer2.exe and it opened windows media player.Is this all?
AdvenureMaker is so easy even a caveman can use it!
User avatar
Crazygamemaker
VIP
 
Posts: 278
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 1:40 am
Location: 805,Califas


Return to Adventure Maker Technical Support and Bug Reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests