How do you display multiple variables on a page?

This forum is meant for posting anything related to Adventure Maker that doesn't fit in the other forums.Please post technical questions in the Technical Support Forum!

Moderators: time-killer-games, Vengeance66, Candle, reneuend, GM-Support

How do you display multiple variables on a page?

Postby drdna » Thu Nov 29, 2007 5:18 am

The title says it all. I might be braindead on this but it totally slips my mind on how to do it?

Thanks in advance.
drdna
Member
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 10:16 pm

Postby GM-Support » Thu Nov 29, 2007 3:14 pm

Hi drdna and welcome to the forums.

What do you mean by "displaying multiple variables on a page"?
GM-Support
Forum Admin and Games Page admin
 
Posts: 2221
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 7:52 pm

Postby drdna » Thu Nov 29, 2007 8:17 pm

GM-Support wrote:Hi drdna and welcome to the forums.

What do you mean by "displaying multiple variables on a page"?


I knew I was braindead at the time. lol. I figured it out last night.

What I was doing is displaying a button in the corner of every page of the game for "Life Stats" using runtime frame merging. Then, at any time, the player can click the button and display a page with ALL their current stats such as "Health", "Cash", "Intelligence", "Conquests", etc. I couldn't remember how to display all the stats (Variables) on one page.

Then I remembered to use the "text(1,2,3 etc).Caption = Cstr(variable)" routine for each one I wanted to display. Then I go back to the last frame visited.

This routine is great for those that don't want to clutter up the main screen with a lot of ongoing stats, but needs them available at ANY time.

Thanks for the quick reply. I guess I just jumped the gun.

Btw, I have the full version and it's a FANTASTIC application. I love it. I may be upgrading to the commercial version in a few months.
drdna
Member
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 10:16 pm

Postby GM-Support » Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:41 pm

Thanks! I am glad you found the solution.
GM-Support
Forum Admin and Games Page admin
 
Posts: 2221
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 7:52 pm

Postby mercedes » Fri Apr 04, 2008 11:46 am

Variable question..is this normal.?

to create variables for someone to enter in..say 1 2 3 4..

For them to enter 1 2

walk around come back and enter 3 4..and it work..? is there no way to stop them from being able to finish statement later..I mean it's not huge thing, cause as long as they can't open it with just 3 4 enterend i suppose..

Maybe i'm doing something wrong..

T.I.A. for anyone who replies..:D
User avatar
mercedes
VIP
 
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:43 pm
Location: Canada..~

Postby Mystery » Fri Apr 04, 2008 6:57 pm

I'm not quite sure what you mean.
You can reset the variables to 0 when the player leaves the screen. Just use the hotspot that they click to leave, and set the variables of the code to 0 on the Variables Tab.
User avatar
Mystery
Forum Admin and Games Page admin
 
Posts: 2990
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 8:12 am
Location: Switzerland

Postby mercedes » Fri Apr 04, 2008 7:54 pm

Deleted post
Last edited by mercedes on Mon Apr 07, 2008 10:00 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
mercedes
VIP
 
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:43 pm
Location: Canada..~

Postby mercedes » Sat Apr 05, 2008 8:22 am

Noone answered so I just deleted it..There is no option to delete here..?..

Anyhow sorry..:)
User avatar
mercedes
VIP
 
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:43 pm
Location: Canada..~


Return to Adventure Maker General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

cron