Tutorial for Inventory at the bottom of frame~

This forum is meant for people to share their knowledge by writing their own tutorials for Adventure Maker.

Moderators: time-killer-games, Vengeance66, Candle, reneuend, GM-Support

Tutorial for Inventory at the bottom of frame~

Postby mercedes » Sat Jun 25, 2011 4:22 am

This is a tutorial for anyone who may wish to have their inventory across the bottom as opposed to the top of the frames~

--------------
These settings are for an 800*600 frame

Open your Project's Properties>>Inventory TAB

Set it for a Static inventory--[Leave the check-box blank]

Set your vertical spacing for 523-[aprox.]
Adjust the horizontal or leave as is at 10--[This is the spacing between your icons]

Done. :)

I want to Thank jack8135 for sharing that with me..That is just epic..In all of the time I've had AM..I never tried that..!?
I've messed with it..but not bring it that far down..to give me my inventory at the bottom..
So simple, yet very effective..:D

***

** The only thing I would advise against;
Using the Message feature..be it by script or thru the Action tab..Use TEXT instead**
User avatar
mercedes
VIP
 
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:43 pm
Location: Canada..~

Postby reneuend » Sun Jun 26, 2011 3:28 am

Maybe someone should build a template for this or an example!!! :wink:
---


Image
Image
User avatar
reneuend
Administrator
 
Posts: 2690
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 8:37 pm
Location: Midwest Cornfield, USA

Postby mercedes » Sun Jun 26, 2011 3:38 am

Heyyy...!

Don't try and tell me u knew this!... I'd know u were lying!... :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Seriously....I still can't get over having never tried this myself..

It looks even better if you have a bar at the bottom..for them to display on...I look forward to making another game..just so i can do this..hah..:D
User avatar
mercedes
VIP
 
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:43 pm
Location: Canada..~

Postby reneuend » Sun Jun 26, 2011 4:44 am

That's similar to how I make my games, but usually its when someone puts down the gauntlet and say, "it can't be done" or if I dream something up and wonder how it would be done.
---


Image
Image
User avatar
reneuend
Administrator
 
Posts: 2690
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 8:37 pm
Location: Midwest Cornfield, USA

Postby mercedes » Sun Jun 26, 2011 7:40 am

reneuend wrote:That's similar to how I make my games, but usually its when someone puts down the gauntlet and say, "it can't be done" or if I dream something up and wonder how it would be done.


I don't like hearing...it can't be done....:shock:
I've seen myself put in many hours..trying to find a way that something.. can be done.. Then to find out..the answer is right in my face..lol..I'm the same way when it comes to searching for something..I'll search for days..especially if I know its there..
User avatar
mercedes
VIP
 
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:43 pm
Location: Canada..~

Postby jack8135 » Mon Jun 27, 2011 2:31 am

I want to Thank jack8135 for sharing that with me..That is just epic..In all of the time I've had AM..I never tried that..!?
I've messed with it..but not bring it that far down..to give me my inventory at the bottom..
So simple, yet very effective..



mercedes you flatter me! :D
I would've never stumbled onto it if I didn't have an aversion to code. I'm lucky I ever figured out how to do mouse hover. I have reneuend to thank for that!

I have to say this is the best forum community I've ever met. It's almost weird NOT getting lambasted for posting a request or idea. On the contrary, this forum is very helpful and proactive. Love it! :D
User avatar
jack8135
Member
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2011 8:12 am

Postby reneuend » Mon Jun 27, 2011 3:53 am

Thanks Jack, but let me just pass on the thanks to ShadowHunter. His plugins like KeyGuard has really opened the doors to AM! :wink:
---


Image
Image
User avatar
reneuend
Administrator
 
Posts: 2690
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 8:37 pm
Location: Midwest Cornfield, USA

Postby jack8135 » Mon Jun 27, 2011 6:45 am

Thanks Jack, but let me just pass on the thanks to ShadowHunter. His plugins like KeyGuard has really opened the doors to AM!


Oh definitely! Reading about Keyguard was what prompted me to shell out for the full edition. It literally is the "key" to unlocking the potential of AM. ShadowHunter has been the biggest influence, inspiration and help to creating my very own adventure game.
User avatar
jack8135
Member
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2011 8:12 am

Postby ZeornWarlock » Wed Aug 03, 2011 12:29 am

What I would like to know is if it would be possible to have 4 inventories at once. One on each side of the screen. This kind of feature would have infinite possibilities. Hope I can explain this well!

EX 1: for detective game type by using all 4 sides:

Top inventory: Named and acts as an ipod.
Left inventory: Named and acts as a hand bag container with its own set of items.
Right inventory: Named and acts as wallet container with its own set of items.
Bottom inventory: Named and acts as equipped items such as weapons.

EX 2 for a super hero game type by using top and bottom only:

Top inventory: Named and acts as a list of super powers.
Bottom inventory: Named and acts as a list of mundane items.

I don?t think it?s possible but that would be really useful if it was as I can imagine there would so much more possibilities with this.

ZW.
You have to make some to understand some.
User avatar
ZeornWarlock
Expert Member
 
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 12:52 am
Location: In front of the monitor.

Postby reneuend » Wed Aug 03, 2011 4:40 am

I think it is possible, but it would have to be totally custom.
In fact, lets take it one step further. With KeyGuard, you can use the middle scroll wheel of the mouse to switch between inventory objects. How about making it so you can select which inventory objects that the user can have readily available without going to their other inventories that would be represented as a "locker" of sorts. So, they would select items from any of the 4 inventories and then access these objects using the mouse wheel. Of course, there would be a limit to how much they can load to the mouse wheel. Maybe each item would have some kind of weight amount and the mouse wheel can only hold so much weight. This idea would make it so the user would have to think carefully about the choices they make for carrying.

With the new Keyguard version, hopefully you could use the arrows on the keyboard as an alternative to the mouse wheel.
---


Image
Image
User avatar
reneuend
Administrator
 
Posts: 2690
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 8:37 pm
Location: Midwest Cornfield, USA

Postby ShadowHunter » Thu Aug 04, 2011 8:00 pm

reneuend wrote:With the new Keyguard version, hopefully you could use the arrows on the keyboard as an alternative to the mouse wheel.


Yes you can :D
User avatar
ShadowHunter
Forum Admin and Games Page admin
 
Posts: 1304
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2003 10:37 pm
Location: Belgium

Postby reneuend » Fri Aug 05, 2011 4:23 am

AWESOME!!!!!!! 8)
---


Image
Image
User avatar
reneuend
Administrator
 
Posts: 2690
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 8:37 pm
Location: Midwest Cornfield, USA

Re: Tutorial for Inventory at the bottom of frame~

Postby Stitches » Tue Nov 26, 2013 11:14 pm

Without the use of Keyguard (because I haven't wrapped my head around some of that yet), I made a custom inventory very basically, a hotspot gif frame merged and linked to a character page. Then use variables. Is it possible to limit the standard inventory? I've read the tutorial on limiting the collection of particular items, but is there a way to cap off the whole inventory so the player can only pick up X items altogether? This is to make the player not "want to" pick up absolutely everything they see. Is there a way to make the standard inventory (static) a scrollable object? So that when items (or power ups as I'm doing)
exceed one line of inventory, it doesn't simply keep adding all the way down the page?
Cheers in advance ^_^
http://www.youtube.com/user/MaynardStaly/videos and http://libertycap.webs.com
“With a bit of luck, his life was ruined forever. Always thinking that just behind some narrow door in all of his favorite bars, men in red woolen shirts are getting incredible kicks from things he’ll never know.”
User avatar
Stitches
Active Member
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 3:56 am
Location: UK

Re: Tutorial for Inventory at the bottom of frame~

Postby reneuend » Tue Nov 26, 2013 11:29 pm

Yes.

Off the top of my head, you can create a variable that acts as a counter. When a user adds an item, increment the variable. As soon as it reaches the max, you can either not allow them to add another one, or you can remove the item they just added.

This is the simplest method.
---


Image
Image
User avatar
reneuend
Administrator
 
Posts: 2690
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 8:37 pm
Location: Midwest Cornfield, USA

Re: Tutorial for Inventory at the bottom of frame~

Postby Stitches » Tue Nov 26, 2013 11:49 pm

I'm already doing this (code If Var < 1 Then Action.AddItem "Item" Var = Var + 1 Else Message "Canna carry more etc." End if). This does limit the number of a certain item carried, but it's capping off the inventory altogether, not by one item, but making it so you wouldn't have to add this code to every item you add to a frame. I get I should probably get my head around keyguard for something like that, but I keep encountering so many problems with that atm that I should rather work to find out the limits of AM with regards to the kind of work I want to produce. Cheers.
http://www.youtube.com/user/MaynardStaly/videos and http://libertycap.webs.com
“With a bit of luck, his life was ruined forever. Always thinking that just behind some narrow door in all of his favorite bars, men in red woolen shirts are getting incredible kicks from things he’ll never know.”
User avatar
Stitches
Active Member
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 3:56 am
Location: UK

Re: Tutorial for Inventory at the bottom of frame~

Postby reneuend » Wed Nov 27, 2013 1:26 pm

Not exactly sure of the issue unless you are talking about having to check the size every time. If you are building a custom inventory, then I would suggest creating your own procedure for "AddItem". Inside this procedure you would check to see if the inventory is maxed out. This way when you use the AddItem procedure, it will automatically take care of the inventory size issue.
---


Image
Image
User avatar
reneuend
Administrator
 
Posts: 2690
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 8:37 pm
Location: Midwest Cornfield, USA


Return to Post Your Own Tutorials

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests