RELEASED: Particle+ v1.0 - The first particle engine for AM

This forum is meant for announcing new plugins, downloading other people's plugins, posting questions, etc.

Moderators: Vengeance66, Harvester, GM-Support, reneuend, Lyberodoggy, Candle, Mystery, ShadowHunter

Postby pennsteve » Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:28 pm

Thank You
pennsteve
Expert Member
 
Posts: 329
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 3:55 pm

Postby Jaked » Wed Jan 28, 2009 9:13 pm

I enabled Particle+, but it doesn't appear in the frames or hotspot plugins tabs. I'm really confused...
My sig changes more often than Doctor Who (see your national BBC channel) regenarates into new melancholy actors. Oh look, Matt Smith! Gerard Butler! Colin Mochrie! That wolf from Twilight: New Moon!
User avatar
Jaked
Code Master
 
Posts: 729
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 4:26 am

Postby juhuwoorps » Wed Jan 28, 2009 9:18 pm

it doesn't appears in the frame or hotspotproperties.
Have a look at the manual to see how it works and how you handle it
juhuwoorps
Code Master
 
Posts: 622
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 3:13 pm

Postby ShadowHunter » Wed Jan 28, 2009 10:05 pm

Hi Jaked,

Page 6 of the instructions manual states:

Particle+ is a project based plug-in you cannot enabled it for a specific frame or hotspots.


Heheh, don't worry, read the manual and you will do fine... it's a quite special plugin :wink:

With best regards,

ShAdOwHuNtEr
Last edited by ShadowHunter on Thu Jan 29, 2009 8:42 am, edited 1 time in total.
Free plugins for Adventure Maker - Free VB game scripts - The best expantion tools - Reviews of Adventures - And more much !

Click here to find out more !

Android Adventure Games Designer comming soon: http://androidadventuregames.com
User avatar
ShadowHunter
Forum Admin and Games Page admin
 
Posts: 1304
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2003 10:37 pm
Location: Belgium

Postby juhuwoorps » Wed Jan 28, 2009 11:03 pm

Hi Shadowhunter.
I know this. I meant Jaked should have a look at the manual :)
juhuwoorps
Code Master
 
Posts: 622
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 3:13 pm

Postby Jaked » Thu Jan 29, 2009 12:06 am

I took a look at the manual immediately after I posted to see if I missed anything.
My sig changes more often than Doctor Who (see your national BBC channel) regenarates into new melancholy actors. Oh look, Matt Smith! Gerard Butler! Colin Mochrie! That wolf from Twilight: New Moon!
User avatar
Jaked
Code Master
 
Posts: 729
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 4:26 am

Postby ShadowHunter » Thu Jan 29, 2009 8:44 am

Hi,

Ooops... sorry juhuwoorps, I typed the wrong name, I meant to write Jaked :oops: Thanks for replying :D

Did you managed to fire-up Particle+ Jaked? Please let me know if you encounter any troubles.

With best regards,

ShAdOwHuNtEr
Free plugins for Adventure Maker - Free VB game scripts - The best expantion tools - Reviews of Adventures - And more much !

Click here to find out more !

Android Adventure Games Designer comming soon: http://androidadventuregames.com
User avatar
ShadowHunter
Forum Admin and Games Page admin
 
Posts: 1304
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2003 10:37 pm
Location: Belgium

Postby 3dgamer » Thu Feb 12, 2009 5:27 am

Hi Shadowhunter,

I'm trying to test out your Particle plus plugin and wanted to create an effect similar to the one in the 7th frame in the demo (or 4th frame above--glowing oval shape effect). Is it possible to use the GIF files that you used for that effect? If not, is there a way you could verify what they are so I can see if I can reproduce them?

TIA! :)
3DGamer
User avatar
3dgamer
Expert Member
 
Posts: 301
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2008 7:12 am

Postby mercedes » Thu Feb 12, 2009 7:19 am

Hi 3D...Just thought i'd let u know..with Particle, you can use all types of files..

Almost every image type can be used as a particle or mask
--from the manual..:)

Portal effect :D There are 4 .GIF files used for that i believe. if u open up the demo..u can see in the Portal Procedure..the images used..meaning u can use them too..:D--No need to reproduce...!:D


Peace
User avatar
mercedes
VIP
 
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:43 pm
Location: Canada..~

Postby 3dgamer » Thu Feb 12, 2009 7:27 am

Okay, thanks mercedes, for letting me know. :) I don't like to use images that other people create without asking permission, first. I guess I had not gotten to that part of the manual yet. ;)

Take care.
3DGamer
User avatar
3dgamer
Expert Member
 
Posts: 301
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2008 7:12 am

Postby mercedes » Thu Feb 12, 2009 7:39 am

Oh ..i misunderstood u..I thought u we're asking "what" type of files can be used..not whether or not u can use them..Although, normally Shadow distributes his software with all rights to use files of type to create the same effects..--But I get why u ask too..I like to as well..:D
User avatar
mercedes
VIP
 
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:43 pm
Location: Canada..~

Postby ShadowHunter » Thu Feb 12, 2009 8:52 am

Hi 3D,

Of course you can use them, it's only 4 colored dots :D

You can use anything you like from the demo...

Good luck,

With best regards,

ShAdOwHuNtEr
Free plugins for Adventure Maker - Free VB game scripts - The best expantion tools - Reviews of Adventures - And more much !

Click here to find out more !

Android Adventure Games Designer comming soon: http://androidadventuregames.com
User avatar
ShadowHunter
Forum Admin and Games Page admin
 
Posts: 1304
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2003 10:37 pm
Location: Belgium

Postby 3dgamer » Fri Feb 13, 2009 3:39 am

Thanks, Shadowhunter, for letting me use the files! :)
Yeah, they may be only four colored dots, but when your time-crunching, even reproducing four little dots can take some time. :)

And no problem Mercedes. I was trying to figure out if you understood my question or not.
So I decided to respond as if you did and figure that you would respond back with clarification if you didn't. And you did. ;) Thanks for the help.
3DGamer
User avatar
3dgamer
Expert Member
 
Posts: 301
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2008 7:12 am

Postby Imari » Tue Feb 17, 2009 7:42 pm

ShadowHunter's plug-in makes really cool looking scrolling credits! :D

These are the settings for the scrolling credits that I made for a game with frames 1024 x 768 with a central viewing are of 1024 x 576. I used a GIF file sized 964 x 2226.

Code: Select all

'---------------------------------------BEGINNING OF ROUTINE-------------------------------------
'Particle+ Initialization Routine created on 2/16/2009 1:05:29 AM by Particle+ 1.0 Design Module
'Please copy all image files to the external folder of your project
'------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Component("ParticlePlus").Object.InitializeEngine BackgroundObject.hDC,BackgroundObject.hWnd,_
   964,_
   576,_
   10,_
   100,_
   0,_
   400,_
   1,_
   -.1,_
   0,_
   0,_
   0,_
   30,_
   30,_
   9,_
   0,_
   0,_
   0,_
   0,_
   0,_
   0,_
   1200,_
   30,_
   GetPath(2)+"Credits.gif",_
   0,_
   0,_
   0,_
   0,_
   0,_
   0,_
   0,_
   0,_
   0,_
   0,_
   0,_
   0,_
   0,_
   0,_
   0,_
   0
   Component("ParticlePlus").Object.StartParticles

'-------------------------------------END OF ROUTINE---------------------------------------------
User avatar
Imari
VIP
 
Posts: 872
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2003 4:49 pm
Location: Virginia, USA

Postby ShadowHunter » Tue Feb 17, 2009 7:56 pm

Yeah, I used it for that too :wink:

But look at the time, it's way past midnight when you generated the routine :lol:

With best regards,

ShAdOwHuNtEr
Free plugins for Adventure Maker - Free VB game scripts - The best expantion tools - Reviews of Adventures - And more much !

Click here to find out more !

Android Adventure Games Designer comming soon: http://androidadventuregames.com
User avatar
ShadowHunter
Forum Admin and Games Page admin
 
Posts: 1304
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2003 10:37 pm
Location: Belgium

Postby Mystery » Tue Feb 17, 2009 8:27 pm

I'm so keen on trying out this plugin - now if you only could make a tool that creates more free time, ShadowHunter... :lol:
I'll be sure to post about my experience with the plugin :)

Thanks for the code Imari :)
User avatar
Mystery
Forum Admin and Games Page admin
 
Posts: 2985
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 8:12 am
Location: Switzerland

Postby ShadowHunter » Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:34 pm

:lol: :lol: :lol:

That would be awesome !
Free plugins for Adventure Maker - Free VB game scripts - The best expantion tools - Reviews of Adventures - And more much !

Click here to find out more !

Android Adventure Games Designer comming soon: http://androidadventuregames.com
User avatar
ShadowHunter
Forum Admin and Games Page admin
 
Posts: 1304
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2003 10:37 pm
Location: Belgium

Postby Imari » Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:59 pm

I second the request for that plug-in!! :P

But look at the time, it's way past midnight when you generated the routine

I'm trying to make a frame work for a game and am burning the midnight oil (and then some) trying to figure out what is beyond me. That's the fun of it though, right?
Last edited by Imari on Fri Feb 20, 2009 4:13 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Imari
VIP
 
Posts: 872
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2003 4:49 pm
Location: Virginia, USA

Postby Candle » Tue Feb 17, 2009 11:46 pm

Just amazing what can be done with your plug-in.
I wish I was still doing games I would use it. :D
Please don't PM me questions, ask here in the forums!
``````````````
Between grand theft and a legal fee, there only stands a law degree.
User avatar
Candle
Administrator
 
Posts: 2982
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 2:21 am
Location: Rudy's Bar

Postby pennsteve » Fri Feb 20, 2009 3:33 am

Just a quick question about this......I havent tried it yet. If I create a winter scene can I use this plugin to create a blizzard?

Thanks.
pennsteve
Expert Member
 
Posts: 329
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 3:55 pm

Postby mercedes » Fri Feb 20, 2009 4:34 pm

Just a quick question about this......I havent tried it yet. If I create a winter scene can I use this plugin to create a blizzard?


I know u can create a snow scenery..If u look at the demo..there is a scene in there with snow..I gather u could do the blizzard..It would be a matter of adjusting the settings..Maybe "Wind" and "Swirl"..I don't have it in front of me..but i think there is a setting for speed too..Only it's not called speed..something like that though..When u register the demo to yourself..play with the settings in the actual demo..and get it to what u want the snow to look like....You could try that and see what happens..I haven't used it myself yet..Just played with the settings a bit...I wrote down what they we're and put them back..lol..

Peace
User avatar
mercedes
VIP
 
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:43 pm
Location: Canada..~

Postby pennsteve » Fri Feb 20, 2009 4:47 pm

I havent been making any games lately but I got an idea for one. I need a snowy or blizzard condition. I havent even looked at the plug-in yet. I've never used a plug-in before. I might try it out this weekend. I'll ask more questions when needed. Thanks ;)
pennsteve
Expert Member
 
Posts: 329
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 3:55 pm

Postby Ikonz101 » Thu Mar 26, 2009 4:12 am

Hey ShadowHunter I get the following error when trying your plug-in demo: Missing File msstdfmt.dll at line A15. I download the DLL file and installed it but it still gives me the error. I am using the free edition right now so I don't know if that has anything to do with it.

Thanks
Ikonz101
User avatar
Ikonz101
Frequent Poster
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 11:23 pm

Postby mercedes » Thu Mar 26, 2009 5:18 am

Hi there...yes u need the full edition to use Plug-ins.. However you can evaluate the full edition under 20 frames :)
You could follow these directions here to register the missing file. There is a post i posted describing on how I was able to register it. :)

Peace
User avatar
mercedes
VIP
 
Posts: 2460
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:43 pm
Location: Canada..~

Help for Paritcle Plus?

Postby Kat12 » Fri Apr 17, 2009 3:24 pm

Hi Shadow Hunter,
I emailed you awhile ago but I've been having trouble with my yahoo mail and I don't think it went through, so I'll post the content here in hopes that you'll see it:

I really love your website, and I can't wait to learn how to use your plugins.
Could I have the registration keys for your Particle Plus and KeyGuard plugins please?

I tried using Particle Plus in my game...I followed the instructions on your website and was able to get to this point OK:
http://www.shadowhunter.co.uk/images/im ... e_0001.jpg

[color=cyan]This message means that Particle+ is working fine but still need some additional information to work.
Click the ?Copy VBS routine to clipboard?
Following code is copied to your clipboard:

...Paste the code to the frames? advanced properties (VB-code) or to the global VBS-procedures, in the latter case you need to make it like a routine, you should call this routine when loading the frame.T

...Your project is now completely configured to start using Particle+
Preview the frame
Click the hotspot and the Designer modu
[/color]le will open[/color]
----------------
I did copy and paste, but I'm not sure if I did it right, because when I drew the hotspot and then tried to preview the frame, I clicked on the hotspot and the designer module wouldn't open. Nothing happened. So I just figured that I made a mistake and decided to learn the basics of AM and try to figure out Particle Plus later on.

However, lol, after I created the .exe file and ran the finished unpacked game on my computer, the Particle Plus designer module DID come up.

I went through my entire game, frame by frame, to see if I forgot to delete the one hotspot that I put in to try to use the plugin, but I couldnt' find it anywhere. So I just disabled the plugin on the Project Properties Plugins menu, and I checked the frames properties too to make sure it wasn't still on.

I uninstalled the game and then I redid the .exe thingy and now the designer module does not come up, but I get a few error messages after hitting "start":
"The component named "ParticlePlus" could not be found."
When I hit "OK" I get another error: "Error executing script. The Scripting Engine returned the following error message: Object required: 'Component(...)'.

If I click "OK" the game runs fine, but I don't know how to get rid of the error message.

I'm sorry that this is so long; I did several searches on the forums using the keyords "Particle Plus" but I couldn't find a solution. I'm very new to all of this and I know I'm probably making a silly mistake that is easily fixed but I can't for the life of me figure out how, lol.

Thanks,
Kathy
(aka Kat12)

PS: Here's the link to my game (it's my first):http://files.filefront.com/OurCampexe/;13581338;/fileinfo.html
User avatar
Kat12
Frequent Poster
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 10:42 pm

Postby ShadowHunter » Sat Apr 18, 2009 7:43 pm

Hallo Kat12,

Thans for very nice comments... I have sent you a PM.

As for the Particle+ question, please follow the user manual step by step and also check out the demo to learn more.

When playing the demo I got the message the ParticlePlus is not available, you might want to check that the OCX is included in the compiled project.

Also the intro video (beach) plays very choppy... what codec did you use?

If all fails related to ParticlePlus, please mail me a small bit of the source project for troubleshooting. I'm sure I can help :wink:

Carry on Kat12, you are on the right track :D

With best regards,

ShAdOwHuNtEr

With best regards
Free plugins for Adventure Maker - Free VB game scripts - The best expantion tools - Reviews of Adventures - And more much !

Click here to find out more !

Android Adventure Games Designer comming soon: http://androidadventuregames.com
User avatar
ShadowHunter
Forum Admin and Games Page admin
 
Posts: 1304
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2003 10:37 pm
Location: Belgium

Postby reneuend » Sat Apr 25, 2009 2:16 pm

Does anyone have a template for rolling fog?
---


Image
Image








See my work at http://www.hickchickgames.com (site under construction)
User avatar
reneuend
Administrator
 
Posts: 2396
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 8:37 pm
Location: Midwest Cornfield, USA

Postby Kat12 » Sun Apr 26, 2009 4:18 pm

Hi Shadowhunter,
Sorry I didn't see your message here before now. Thanks for answering.
I was able to get Particle Plus installed properly, but I can't get the demo to run. I get an error message. I can't remember what the error message said at the moment, and I can't go look right now because I have a migraine...I need to get off the computer. I just wanted to let you know I finally saw your message.
My intro video played choppy because it was originally an AVI file, then I edited it with Windows Movie Maker and had to turn it back into an AVI file after that; something got messed up. I have a different movie editor now so hopefully that won't happen in the future.
Take care,
Kat
User avatar
Kat12
Frequent Poster
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 10:42 pm

Postby ShadowHunter » Sun Apr 26, 2009 6:27 pm

No problem, let me know when you feel better :wink:
Free plugins for Adventure Maker - Free VB game scripts - The best expantion tools - Reviews of Adventures - And more much !

Click here to find out more !

Android Adventure Games Designer comming soon: http://androidadventuregames.com
User avatar
ShadowHunter
Forum Admin and Games Page admin
 
Posts: 1304
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2003 10:37 pm
Location: Belgium

Postby Kat12 » Thu Jun 04, 2009 5:16 pm

Hi again Shadow Hunter,
I finally was able to play the demo; wow!!!!! How amazing is that? I love the effects...especially the inside of the train one, where it looks like it's moving because of the window picture moving, lol. I can't wait to try this again...cross your fingers for me.
Kat


Later:
Woohoo, I did it! I made the computer screen in one of my frames all static-y (like the tv in your demo)!!!
It looks soooo amazing. I can't wait to try the other effects, lol, but I'd better go outside for awhile as it's almost 2 PM and I've been at the computer all day. It's gorgeous out. This plug in was so much easier to learn once I was able to see and use the demo. Thanks again!!!
Kat

:lol:
User avatar
Kat12
Frequent Poster
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 10:42 pm

PreviousNext

Return to The Plugins Corner

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron